Skywatch Friday # 29

A Glade Sunset.  January 18, 2009.

A Glade Sunset. January 18, 2009.

The picture above, which can be enlarged by clicking on it, was taken from my favorite point  on the Druid Hills golf course for viewing the setting sun.

I got there a little later than I had planned, and the sun had already dropped below the ridge line.  I was a little disappointed, but stayed to get a few shots of the sky.  As it got darker , the light reflecting off the clouds got redder and redder until I got the rose color in the picture above.

I’m sorry that the picture is a little dark, but I didn’t want to try any editing.  What you see is what came out of the camera.

To see more beautiful sky pictures from around the world, or to join in the fun and post your own picture on Skywatch Friday, click HERE.

Tags: , ,

49 Responses to “Skywatch Friday # 29”

  1. LEEDRA Says:

    It is gorgeous just the way it is. I don’t ever edit anything.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

  2. Tess Says:

    What a pretty photo!

  3. washaw Says:

    Love it, great picture.

  4. Pat Says:

    My favorite photos are those that came straight from the camera. This one’s a beauty! Thanks for sharing.

  5. wren Says:

    The picture may be dark, but the red is intense, and the combination is very dramatic.

  6. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    The red was worth waiting for. It’s a lovely shade.

  7. jennwashere Says:

    Hi.. thanks for dropping by my SWF post, and thanks for always dropping by my blog and commenting there.

    Anyway, this is a very interesting sky you have. I love red streaks. I think this is the first time I saw a red-colored sky.

  8. connieemeraldeyes Says:

    The sky looks like it is on fire. Nice picture.

  9. Rambling Woods Says:

    I think that the layers of colors are beautiful even if it isn’t exactly what you wanted George…Michelle..

  10. Tabib Says:

    Great picture of sunset.
    I like it without editing – Original!

  11. Indrani Says:

    Whoa! I love that bright red. Quite often, it is just after sunset you get beautiful colors in the sky.

  12. Louise Says:

    I’m glad you waited; it’s gorgeous!

  13. mommywiz Says:

    That is really beautiful. I’ve often missed a good sunset because I didn’t linger around after the sun already crossed the line.

    I like it dark and broody…

    I played along today – not sure what I caught though…

    Have a great Friday!

    MommyWizdom

  14. Denise Says:

    Wow, what gorgeous colors you captured in your photograph. So beautiful! Happy SkyWatch Friday.

  15. Guy D Says:

    Stunning colors to say the least, great pic.

    Cheers and have a great weekend!
    Regina In Pictures

  16. Bhavesh Chhatbar Says:

    It was the same scene today morning at my place. I love the volcano ignite effect just before the sunrise.

  17. baba's blog Says:

    Hi George, Your sunset shot is great!!! I love sunset and sunrise pictures… I post some of them on Sunday’s meme…. The sun sets so quickly, I miss a good shot if I don’t take it immediately..thanks for sharing this wonderful sunset… Have a good day…. Baba

  18. Readerwil Says:

    But it’s beautiful George! It’s an honest photo and exactly what your camera detected. Have a great SWF day

  19. Kathy Says:

    George your photo came out great. It kinda reminds me of lava. =) Hope you have a wonderful day.

  20. vic Says:

    wonderful sunset! 🙂

  21. theArthurClan Says:

    It doesn’t need any editing ~ it’s beautiful and dramatic already! Wow.

  22. MartinC Says:

    Incredible colours! Well captured!

  23. MaryBeth Says:

    Whoa!!! That is just so beautiful. I am glad you posted exactly what you saw. MB

  24. Divina Says:

    This is wild looking of the sky. I like it so much.Thanks for sharing them

  25. Rose Says:

    George, this is real beauty!

  26. Carla Says:

    That’s beautiful! I prefer honest photos also.

  27. Mildred Says:

    Very beautiful George. No need to edit what God has already “painted” so perfectly!

  28. imac Says:

    This is a real beauty.

  29. Jen S Says:

    I love sunsets–but can’t see them where I live down in the valley.
    Beautiful fire in the sky!

  30. Mary Says:

    It’s very pretty, George and doesn’t matter that it is dark. That’s just the truth the camera is showing 🙂 I like the last bits of color that come late like that. Must have been a beauty as it went down. Great place to view a sunset. I have so many distractions in my view.

  31. ewok1993 Says:

    There are those pics that dont need any tweaking at all, this is one of them. Happy weekend.

  32. jewwishes Says:

    The vivid tones and contrasts are lovely.

  33. Tammie Says:

    Even in the darkness of the photo the beauty is obvious.

  34. Susie Says:

    That picture is beautiful!

  35. robert v sobczak Says:

    I’m always finding myself missing sunsets … sometimes the colors cooperate and hang around … other times they don’t. There was a fire in the Everglades, and that day had the most brilliant red sunset … but I missed it, atleast to photograph it. It was gone by the time I got to my favorite spot.

  36. Josephine Says:

    Wow…”red sky at night, sailor’s delight.
    “red sky in the morning, sailor’s warning”
    What a simply beautiful photograph !

  37. Tootie Says:

    That was really a pretty sky!

  38. Neal Says:

    Very, very beautiful George!

  39. JLS Hall Says:

    Breathtaking is the only word I can think of! What a wonderful shot!

  40. Ms Hays Says:

    Oh so beautifully colored!

  41. Carletta Says:

    Red at night sailor’s delight! That’s what my Grandpa used to say and my Dad.
    It’s lovely George.

  42. Carrizo Says:

    Colors are really beautiful. My opinion is that this photo is better than “manipulated” by photoshop or PaintShopPro. So the original photo is original and it reflex the situation as it was when You photogrphed the sky.

    Thank You sharing this photo with us.

    Best regards.

  43. tanya Says:

    Gorgeous red sky! I don’t edit anything, sometimes the photo isn’t as good as what I actually saw, but then I think photoshopping is kind of fake. Guess I’m a purist 😉

  44. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    This image I like. Such mysterious and dramatic sky and the colours are nearly like a bad omen. With that I mean that this would be fitting in a psychological thriller or something similar. Great shot George. I also read your post on retirement. I could retire today and not have any problems getting time to go. Even in the winter without my gardening.

  45. Brit' Gal' Sarah Says:

    Lovely George, I like the contrast in it alot

  46. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: Beautiful capture in red.

  47. storyteller Says:

    What a FIREY sky … dramatically threatening! I understand about getting there just a bit late … it happens to me all too often. I’ve not spent much time at the computer the last 4 days or so, but I did participate in Sky Watch at Happily Retired Gal and Sacred Ruminations on Friday. I’m doing what I can to catch up this afternoon after being away from home all day yesterday and watching the 5-set Men’s Championship Tennis Match earlier this morning.
    Hugs and blessings,

  48. Judy Says:

    I am glad you waited for the sky to become this dark. I love that intense pink shade!!
    Thanks for sharing!

  49. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    Wow, what a sky! That’s some fiery color in those clouds.

Leave a Reply

