Where Has All the Time Gone?

happyretirementplates1

Before I retired, I had read (several times) about men who suddenly had all this time on their times and couldn’t handle it.  I guess the death rate for newly-retired men is higher than one would expect.

All I can say is that I would like to find the person that has all my extra time on his (or her) hands.  So far I haven’t seen all that spare time I was told to expect.

Of course some of this is my fault.  Since I retired Betsy and I have landscaped our yard and started growing roses.  So I can understand that I have more to do during warm weather.

But now it’s winter and there is very little to do outside.  I’ll admit I sleep a little later in the mornings than I did while I was working, but I stay up later at night.  Household chores don’t take up any more time than they did while I was working.

Before I retired I dreamed of having time to read.  I don’t get one issue of my newsmagazine read before the next one arrives.  I started a history book three months ago and still haven’t finished it.  (This from a guy who used to read a book in a single day).  My stamp newspapers are piling up in my inbox — unread.

I have made pages for my stamp albums and mounted the stamps, but I’ve received just as many new stamps.  I have converted old LPs to CDs, but still have a couple hundred to do.  I’ve also worked on digitizing my old slides, but I’m still stuck in the 1990s.

Of course, I’ve started blogging, but, hey, a guy has to have some fun!!

I could tell you more, but I don’t have time.

Tags: ,

31 Responses to “Where Has All the Time Gone?”

  1. Tootie Says:

    I know where you’re coming from George. Could it be that we are moving a little slower???

  2. Josephine Says:

    Makes you wonder how you found time to work, doesn’t it ?
    lol

  3. Grammy Says:

    You have to schedule time for the books. As I can still read a book in a day if it is of interest to me. But with the computer I can read most of the book at google books. So I am reading online more. And my books are growing dust. It is important to stay busy, As my hubby has all the time in the world and uses it for sleep TV and eating. I have to learn to motivate him to want to do something with his time. That is the hard part.
    Soon I will be doing a post on suggestions of what to do on a road trip. My sister in law and I are going to Huston Texas then to Murfeesburro. Tenn. I have been looking for things to see in Alabama Miss Louisiana. So far I am just finding tourist traps in Alabama. Have not started on the other states yet.

  4. Michele Says:

    Oh, I cannot wait for the day of retirement so I can not have to get up at 3:30am and walk in the frigid cold weather and then listen to the complaints of customers who at the end of my day make me want to cry! =)

    Hang on to these days George… they really aren’t too bad. Hopefully things will click into place and you will get a routine going and get some of that extra time that you crave.
    ((Hugs))

  5. SandyCarlson Says:

    What a full and rich life. You remind me of my stamp album. Never thought I’d see the day of printing album pages.

  6. tanya Says:

    I stopped working over 10 years ago to stay home with my children and it’s amazing how little time you really do have! Now that all my kids are in school, the days got long and lonely with just me in the house so recently I got a part time job at the high school where my daughter attends. It’s perfect for me because I’m only gone a few hours while my kids are all in school. But now I’m having trouble balancing things that I used to have all day to get done…guess I’ll eventually find a balance that works!

  7. JLS Hall Says:

    When I retired early, I thought I might have trouble filling all those “extra” hours, too. But I think I’m busier now than I was when I was working. I’m wondering just when those extra hours are going to start kicking in. And, yes, I probably devote much too much time to blogging – something I didn’t know existed while I was still working.

  8. Mildred Says:

    Morning George, So happy you have so many interests to enjoy – you and Betsy have certainly earned the right to enjoy blogging, growing roses and daylilies, reading etc. Don’t you wonder how you ever had time to WORK???

  9. Suzanne Says:

    Very cute George…you always make me laugh…
    I understand. I am a stay at home MOM. People ask me if I get bored.
    HUH? bored. I don’t have time to get bored.
    I suppose my retirement will be much like it is today, just without little people running around.
    You stay busy…that is a great thing though. You know what they say about idle hands….

  10. NCMountainwoman Says:

    George, you sound just like us. We are as busy as when we were working, but it’s all a fun kind of busy. This is not without planning. We decided early in life that everyone needs three things to take into retirement: good health, enough money, and plenty of interests to keep you occupied. Sorry, I would expand on that, but I’m too busy.

  11. Mary Says:

    It’s the blogging that eats up all the time! I can’t believe how much time I spend on the comuter any more….and yet, I have a dozen computer projects that I need to get done and haven’t started! I’d say it sounds like you are enjoying your retirement very much…and that is how it should be.

  12. imac Says:

    I like it George, its appears so true.
    I’m now semi retired at 60.
    Having worked 37.30 hours a week, doing shifts, evenings, weekends ect, I now work 30hrs a week,(lol) but its mon-fri 8am till 2pm, giving me more time for photographing and helping more with the house work, seems to me its more housework than photographing, ah well maybe when I retire fully.

  13. Brit' Gal' Sarah Says:

    Not retired yet, but unofficially whilst I awaited a green card and I know just what you mean!

  14. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    It’s amazing how quickly a day goes by when occupied with things we didn’t have time for when we “Worked.”

  15. Tina Says:

    ditto..don’t you just love wondering what to do next..and the list is made up of all the things you eventually want to do…and not what the workplace boss wants you to do!!

  16. meredith Says:

    You might enjoy this blogger. I just found him and enjoyed his humor on this subject! Funny, I usually never leave a blog for someone else to see, but I left him one too. http://sweatysocks2.blogspot.com/

    I you have not all met, I have a feeling you would like one another’s blog company.

    Enjoyed your post, BTW

  17. sharon Says:

    I’m planning on my husband never retiring. If he ever does, then there goes MY free time. Glad you have found some hobbies you love!

  18. Rose Says:

    Everything you say is so true…and Roger and I are not even that old. And I have always been one that had a book I couldn’t wait to read, and now, I have to have one started but I very seldom have one going that I can’t wait to get back to….and I feel like part of me is missing. I don’t know if it is the reading I do on the computer or what…but it feels strange.

    BTW, I love your last line!

  19. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    WONDERFUL! Life is way to short to sit around and twiddle your thumbs. Stay busy. It’s good for you. 😉

  20. Readerwil Says:

    In spite of your retirement you seem busy as ever! Same with me. I retired long ago., but I like computering which is very time consuming. Today I was out all day birds viewing.

  21. Shelley Says:

    Greg and I would like to have the life you and Betsy have! Sleeping in sounds great to me! Also seeing all those waterfalls that you & Betsy travel to. I can’t wait until Greg is retired and we can schedule anything at any time. A continued happy retirement to you George!!

  22. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    I love reading your posts. They make so much sense. I’m not retired yet, but my hubby is. He was kind of forced into when the factory shut down a few years ago. He pretty busy puttering around the house, the barn and the shed. That’s in the summer, but in the winter he kind of gets stuck inside a lot. He doesn’t like that part. I hope you find some time for your stamps! Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  23. robert v sobczak Says:

    Sounds like you know the secret to a happy retirement — keeping busy! I’m the same way about books. I’m an avid reader, and arguably the thing I do most (other than writing), but books are high peaks of Everest these days and I haven’t climbed one since last year.

  24. Kathy Says:

    When my dad retired my mom kept him busy going different places. As far as reading goes I think you will just have to set some time aside each day just for this. I know since I got my camera for christmas my reading pile has gotten larger because I spend so much time doing other things now. I have a book blog and I still can’t find enough time to read.

  25. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: I’m starting to get that feeling but my blogging is time consuming as is yours I’m sure.

  26. Happyone Says:

    Good for you. I think having too much to do is so much better than sitting around being bored. Life is good and there is so much to do and learn and enjoy!! 🙂

  27. theArthurClan Says:

    My parents are both “retired” and I think that they are busier than they have ever been! It’s so easy to fill up that time.

  28. happily retired gal Says:

    I can soooooo relate to what you’ve shared here!!! Sometimes I wonder how I ever had time to work. It seems like there’s never enough time for everything … especially reading. Like you I used to read books in a single day as well. Of course, blogging DOES eat up considerable time most days, but I certainly haven’t spent much time at the computer for the past week or so. Can’t say I’m complaining though because retired life is definitely a good thing ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  29. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    I’m between jobs and don’t seem to have any idle time so I wonder too how anyone can retire and not have anything to do. There’s never enough time in my day. Then again, maybe if I got off of this computer… 🙂

  30. Louise Says:

    I would be the same. I’m a stay-at-home mom and probably 6 or 7 times busier than when I had a “real job.” Some of us are just industrious. You must be one of them. And you’ll live longer for it!

  31. LEEDRA Says:

    Blogging takes alot of the book time away for a lot of people. I still carry one with me everywhere. If I have a minute, I read. With Jimmy out of town all week I eat alone alot of the time. I read then…still takes alot longer to read a book than it used to. Even if it is a page turner. I look forward to the day that I also can NOT have enough time in the day although I don’t go to the paying job.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

Leave a Reply

