A Covered Bridge

The Covered Bridge at Lake County Fairgrounds.  July, 2002.

The Covered Bridge at Lake County Fairgrounds. July, 2002.

My blogging friend Tarolino gave me the challenge of opening my fourth picture folder and displaying the fourth picture.  This is a tag that many of you have played, but I have never played this particular version.

The picture above is the covered bridge in the Lake County Fairgrounds in Crown  Point, Indiana.  The picture was taken in July, 2002, when I took Betsy to visit my hometown.  The bridge, which was built in 1878, was constructed in southern Indiana, but moved to northern Indiana in 1933.  It’s been in the fairgrounds ever since.

When I was growing up I was in 4-H and exhibited livestock at the fair for several years.  I often crossed the bridge when I was exhibiting.  The pavilions in the background are more recent additions and were not there when I exhibits at the fair.

The Lake County Fairgrounds covered bridge.  July, 2002.

The Lake County Fairgrounds covered bridge. July, 2002.

The bridge was (and is) in a wooded setting and is quite pretty.  This second picture (which was number 5 in the folder) gives a better perspective of the bridge’s setting in the fairgrounds.

I’m not going to tag any one.  If you would like to participate please do so.

Tags: ,

31 Responses to “A Covered Bridge”

  1. Kathy Says:

    What a neat looking covered bridge. I don’t think I have seen a covered bridge in years. Hope you have a great day.

  2. SandyCarlson Says:

    Lovely shots, George. I was just on a covered bridge this weekend. It’s thick floor boards muted the sound of water racing under ice. Very nice. Your photos warm me up, though!

  3. Mildred Says:

    Morning George, A nice photo and fun memory this morning.

  4. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: It is nice to find a gem when you open the folder. That was a neat capture.

  5. Mary Says:

    Great photo….I wonder where in southern Indiana it originally came from. Seems an odd thing to move from one part of the state to another!

  6. Josephine Says:

    I absolutely love covered bridges !
    Wonderful photo George …
    I have nomiated you for an award, just pop on over to my blog…

  7. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    I like covered bridges as I so rarely see them. It’s pretty great that this one is at a fairgrounds. Nice shots!

  8. Susie Says:

    I’m glad they saved it. I hate to see things like this torn down.

  9. Tina Says:

    Lovely covered bridge, we have several here in Bucks Co, Pa….and they are such a welcomed sight in all the seasons!

  10. Shelley Says:

    Great shots of the covered bridges – there’s something so homey and whimisical about them!

  11. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    I’m glad you participated and what a lovely and nostalgic picture you did find. I just love these covered bridges that you have in some places. I don’t think they exist here. At least I’ve never come across one. I’ve only seen them in american films.
    Love the story behind this picture too. Another walk down memory lane and as it is a nice one.

  12. sharon Says:

    Must have been nice growing up in a town that had covered bridges!

  13. Readerwil Says:

    What a nice photo of this bridge. Forgive me but can you explain to me what a folder is? Is it a map or a page of your weblog. I ask this because I was asked to find the sixth photo of the sixth folder.

  14. ewok1993 Says:

    I wonder if there are more covered bridges around your area. I thought they are a marvelous structure and would really like to see all of them preserved even if are only used for foot traffic.

    I’m glad you played this meme.

  15. Antigoni Says:

    Great place for adventure. I like bridges very much. Awesome photos.

  16. Antigoni Says:

    If you liked part 1, wait to see part 2.

  17. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    I love the charm of a covered bridge!

  18. Happyone Says:

    I love covered bridges.

  19. Suzanne Says:

    That is so pretty and reminds us of times gone by….

  20. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: You are getting a lot of My World people because of your visits. You should add My World to your post.

  21. Grammy Says:

    How wonderful. I have see a number of shows on bridge building. But none showed bridges built and moved. That is very interesting. Most were massive or rail road that they showed.

  22. Rocky Mountain Retreat Says:

    The covered bridge is very nice… I haven’t seen any around this area at all!

  23. Brit' Gal' Sarah Says:

    I just find covered bridges fascinating – why covered intrigues me? This is a lovely example.

  24. Gill Says:

    I love covered bridges………..great photos.

    Gill in Canada

  25. wren Says:

    I’m amazed that the entire bridge could be moved like that. I know people move entire houses some times, but that amazes me too.

    Happy Groundhog Day!

  26. storyteller's other blog Says:

    I’ve read about and seen pictures of covered bridges, but never seen one in person. Both photos are intriguing. Actually I did something similar at Small Reflections a while bag when tagged by Hootin’ Anni to post the 6th photo in my 6th folder.
    Hugs and blessings,

  27. Marites Says:

    we don’t really have those in our country and it is fascinating. The first time I’ve been curious about covered bridges was after seeing the movie based on the book, The Bridges of Madison County. Beautiful!

  28. Louise Says:

    It is a beautiful bridge and setting, as you say!

    You are lucky to find such a wonderful thing in your folder. I sometimes have to be creative about mine! I’m doing one later today, however, and it is just what was there. I was amazed!

  29. theArthurClan Says:

    Some friends of mine went on a drive to take photos of covered bridges. I told them that I’m definitely going with them next time! They are so beautiful to photograph and yours turned out so wonderful.

  30. Carletta Says:

    I love the old covered bridges. A few months ago I blogged about a day trip where I found five or six. Love being inside and looking at the structure.
    I was in 4-H too – happy memories of my time spent – especially camp. 🙂

  31. Carrizo Says:

    I never have seen a covered bridge. This is interesting for me.

Leave a Reply

