My World # 16

A woodpecker buffet in the Glade.  January 31, 2009.

A woodpecker buffet in the Glade. January 31, 2009.

I think there may be woodpeckers in my world — or at least very close to my world.

I took the above picture Saturday (the picture can be enlarged by clicking on it).  I was carrying wood from the woodpile to the garage when I noticed this tree on the property line between our house and the empty lot next door.  I just had to get a picture.  I apologize for the perspective, but I wanted to shoot at such an angle that you could see the hole that went all the way through the tree.

As you can see there has been quite a bit of damage done to this old tree.  I know we have quite a few different types of woodpeckers around the house — red-bellied woodpeckers, downy woodpeckers, northern flickers, red-headed woodpeckers and HUGE pileated woodpeckers.

We live in a wood frame house.  This is as close to my world as I want those woodpeckers to get!

To see more of our wonderful world, or to join in the fun and post your own pictures of your world, click HERE.

Tags: , ,

44 Responses to “My World # 16”

  1. ewok1993 Says:

    This is a woodpecker’s art you captured beautifully.

  2. Indrani Says:

    The woodpecker was actually trying to save the tree from the pest inside.
    Nice shot!

  3. Tammie Says:

    wonderful image of the nature of life!

  4. Lilli Says:

    Great shot of the hole the woodpecker made, i am surprised it is all the way thru, the tree

  5. Tootie Says:

    I love having those old dead trees around, all the birds here seem to love them too.

  6. Neal Says:

    Woodpeckers are so beautiful but they can also do a lot of damage if they start pecking in the wrong places.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    those cute little guys can really do some damage. geeze. poor tree!!!

  8. Leena Says:

    I was reading your post about retiring and time and I am still laughing!
    I could make a long, long list about same kind of things, what I thought I will do at once during my first retiring week and they are still waiting!
    But it`s so good to know, that it`s still something so important to do that those things can wait, they are going anywhere, we can do them then, when we have not other things to do !

    Nice time to you!

  9. Leena Says:

    Put one not more – “they are not going anywhere” , sorry! I was in hurry 🙂

  10. angela Says:

    We have had a woodpecker living in the garden for a little while now. As our house is made of concrete I won’t shoo him off.

  11. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: Neat shot through the tree, what a lot of work. I’m sure the woodpecker got the proper pay.

  12. Louise Says:

    There must have been something very yummy in that tree!

  13. Susie Says:

    I’d say you got some woodpeckers or some mighty big bugs one!!

  14. imac Says:

    Watch them frames George, they’ll be there.

    Great pic too.

  15. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    Looks like the woodpeckers have been very busy.
    Blessings,Ruth

  16. Happyone Says:

    Wow, there’s not much left of that tree!! Great shot!

  17. Kathy Says:

    I saw a woodpecker in our front tree yesterday. Haven’t seen one in ages. Great shot George.

  18. sharon Says:

    Great photo…I love that you pointed out where the hole goes all the way through the tree…I probably wouldn’t have seen that!

  19. SandyCarlson Says:

    I love this shot, George. I am always impressed by their neatness and precision. Perfect circles!

  20. Readerwil Says:

    That’s quite a formidable woodpecker to cause such damage! Thanks for the information about woodpeckers in general. Thanks also for the visit. You’re right: we don’t know enough about Captain Cook but he must have been a wise man.

  21. Shelley Says:

    I love how you titled this photo the “woodpecker buffet” – perfect! And I admire their handiwork – as long as they stay on the trees!

  22. Jen Says:

    I do enjoy hearing woodpeckers in my yard. And now I am enjoying seeing them at my bird feeding area. 🙂

  23. theArthurClan Says:

    I took a hike with my kids through our woods on Sunday and I noticed the same thing on some of our trees. I’ll need to post those pics soon!

  24. SaraG Says:

    Great photo, George. Thank you for all the wonderful comments you have left on my blog!
    Take care

  25. Brit' Gal Sarah Says:

    I think you might be right in your assumption George!

  26. Valkyrien Says:

    I guess your woodpcker is more sensibel than the woodpeckers in my forest! In my forest these pretty birds uses the metal on top of the streetlights – you can hear them all over the place! Sometimes I wonder if they are talking with eachoter – for occationally another woodpecker is answering from another streetlight! Headache??? Concussion??

    Great shot of a woodpeckers art!

  27. Rose Says:

    Looks like you have some quite active woodpeckers.

  28. Rose Says:

    I know you grew up in Indiana, but I keep forgetting it. Have you ever been to Parke County? It has a lot of covered bridges…I have 4 or 5 on my blog, but they are only the beginning.

  29. Hilda Says:

    I enlarged the photo to look at the hole — yup, I wouldn’t want those woodpeckers to get any nearer either!

    Fascinating.

  30. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    We have some of those woodpeckers here. Have seen the red headed one and the downy woodpeckers. We have several trees around the house they like to peck at. Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great evening!

    Sherrie

  31. Mildred Says:

    We had quite a lot of damage from woodpeckers a few years ago. We are currently having the damage repaired – quite costly! Someone told us to throw a couple of large rubber snakes on the roof in the areas that attracted the woodpeckers. So far, it has worked!

  32. beautiful Says:

    This is beautiful but pls show us your Watery Wednesday, too!

  33. blossom Says:

    Hi George .. I like the tip Mildred gave, to get rid of the woodpeckers. I like birds a lot but at the same time, I wouldn’t want them to wrack my house.

  34. D Says:

    Well, Woody has been busy here hasn’t he!
    We used to have one wake us up pecking on our gutters early in the a.m. It sounded like a machine gun!

  35. crafts Says:

    I like the picture. Great shot!

  36. robert v sobczak Says:

    I read that woodpeckers all evolved from a common ancestor, as opposed to convergent evolution. That’s interesting, as in so many other natural habitats we see examples of the later. During the winter they can make quite a racket!

  37. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    Woodpeckers seem to be on a rampage around here. Maybe we have had more insects than usual. This has been a colder than normal winter, which means some of harmful insects may have been killed off n the cold. There has to be something positive abut the extreme cold we’ve had!

  38. Ms Hays Says:

    I sure can’t blame you there – you don’t want holes like that in your house!!!

  39. Carletta Says:

    What a capture!
    Amazing they went all the way through the tree so perfectly.

  40. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    That’s pretty amazing, not just that it’s straight through but that it’s such a perfect hole.

  41. Denise Says:

    Wow, I never knew a woodpecker could do that much damage to a tree or even bore through the whole tree like he did. Great shot!

  42. storyteller Says:

    What a wonderful photo! I love the way you’ve crisply captured the tree with the suspected Woodpecker damage and let the background be unfocused.
    Hugs and blessings,

  43. Carrizo Says:

    It seems that the surroundings of Your home is interesting with rich nature. Excellent photo.

  44. LEEDRA Says:

    I wouldn’t want those woodpeckers any closer to my house either. Looking straight through those holes clear to the other side. It is like looking through the front door of the Cades Cove cabins, a person can look straight through to the back yard.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

Leave a Reply

