Watery Wednesday # 21

Pond along the fourth hole of the Druid Hills Golf Course.

Pond along the fourth hole of the Druid Hills Golf Course.

We had some snow here in the Glade on Monday.  It wasn’t a lot, but it was Betsy’s favorite type of snow — wet, big flakes that stick to everything except the roads.  The trees and bushes in our yard and along the street.

The picture above, which can be enlarged by clicking on it, gives a good idea of what things looked like around here.  This is another picture from the Druid Hills golf course, but this is on the front nine, which I don’t visit quite as often.

I don’t appreciate snow as much as Betsy does, but I have to admit that walking in a snow like this is a peaceful experience.  It’s a wonderful way to appreciate the beauty of our world.

To see more of our beautiful watery world, or to post your own pictures, click HERE for Watery Wednesday.

Tags: , ,

40 Responses to “Watery Wednesday # 21”

  1. Connie Says:

    That is beautiful. We went down a hill on our sled and hubby and my son built the strange snowman. It is really cold tonight.

  2. Divina Says:

    I love the white and black photo. Nice shot!

  3. Carletta Says:

    A winter shot that is postcard perfect!
    I do like the reflection.
    Our snow melted but more is expected tonight.

  4. Tootie Says:

    It looks beautiful there George. 🙂

  5. JLS Hall Says:

    I have to admit, the snow in your photo does look lovely. But looking at it in a photo is about as close as I want to get!

  6. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    What a lovely shot. Snow sure does give a different look to everything. Who would ever guess this was a golf course with all of that snow on it.
    🙂

  7. Denise Says:

    You sound like a golfer George 🙂 This is a beautiful picture. I love to walk through snow, so peaceful and silent, you can hear a pin drop.

  8. Valkyrien Says:

    Nice shot George! Nice reflections! And I suddenly felt the need for golfing! I startet 1 1/2 years ago (my boyfriend is a golfer) – and it is such a great sport! In a couple of months, maybe I can play again…..too much snow where I live also!

  9. angela Says:

    You could easily use this as Christmas cards..it’s such a lovely tranquil scene.

  10. Mildred Says:

    What a pretty scene George. The black and white really make all the details “pop.” Thanks for sharing and have a good day.

  11. Neal Says:

    I figured that Betsy favorite was snow that was white. 🙂 We got about 4 more inches yesterday with a lot of wind so it was a mess for a while.

  12. Happyone Says:

    I’m not a big fan of snow but it sure is pretty. And I did enjoy taking a walk in it yesterday with huge flakes falling.

  13. Suzanne Says:

    Very pretty…serene.
    It will be gone before you know it…back to normal. ?

  14. Susie Says:

    That’s the best kind of snow. That’s a great picture George! It looks so peaceful.

  15. Grammy Says:

    Hi George what a wonder view. I have something special for you on my blog.

  16. NCMountainwoman Says:

    Lovely photograph. The snow went north of us, south of us, west of us and east of us. We didn’t get more than a few flakes. But it was 4 degrees this morning.

  17. Linnea Says:

    Your WW choice is a lovely winter scene…Glad you were able to walk around in the snow and enjoy the beauty of it. We are supposed to finally get some rain here soon.

  18. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: It will be with you a short time and gone. We had some Sun and lost some snow. We will get 6″ more today.
    BTW: My nephew is on my wifes side of the family so I can take no credit.

  19. Mary Says:

    Sounds like the kind of snow to build a snowman 🙂 Our snow has a hard crust of ice on it, so walking in it is just hazardous and not fun! That is a great photo of the pond! Nice as a view if not for the golfers who find it with their balls 🙂

  20. ewok1993 Says:

    Somehow, I find the gray of winter landscape uplifting (go figure). I enjoy your snow pics a lot.

    You asked about the fishing? Not one bit our bait, but the other anglers were not as unlucky as we were.

  21. Kathleen Corbett Says:

    George,
    I love your choice of your b/w winter scene. BEAUTIFUL AND PICTURESQUE. Snow when it is light and the flakes swirl around and the air is so fresh is a wonderful moment to take a stroll and witness God’s beauty IN AWE.
    The fact that you get this much snow in Tennessee is enlightening to know if we eventually move towards SC. Being in RI with family and enjoying all the seasons is what keeps us here. But this has been a severe winter and very hazardous to drive or walk since there is so much snow on solid ice.

  22. Rambling Woods Says:

    You could almost pretend you are in Buffalo…except that you need many more inches of it…

  23. Debbie Says:

    Very, very nice.

  24. theArthurClan Says:

    It’s gorgeous the way the snow goes right up to the water. Beautiful shot!

  25. Rose Says:

    Perfect for a Christmas card! I like this kind of snow, too.

  26. Tricia Says:

    This is a gorgeous shot!!! Excellent winter scene!!!

  27. SandyCarlson Says:

    That looks like a sugary world! Great shot, George.

  28. sharon Says:

    Very, very beautiful photo:)

  29. Tina Says:

    I’m with Betsy..when it doesn’t stick to the roads!! Beautiful view but I bet you don’t mind that view when the green is green!!

  30. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    That’s a very nice photo! Looks very calm and peaceful! Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  31. blossom Says:

    Hello .. I love your lovely serene picture. I would love to stroll down over there too!

  32. Shelley Says:

    Beautiful shot – it would make a lovely greeting card!!

  33. david mcmahon Says:

    Seriously, George, I’ve never seen a golf course blanketed with snow!

  34. Tammie Says:

    wonderful winter scene!

  35. Louise Says:

    Beautiful. Not sure I’d like walking through the wet stuff, but how beautiful the contrasts are for a photo!

  36. robert v sobczak Says:

    I’m probably like you about the snow, but I did always like to look at it out the window. Part of that is that I am not a thrill seeker, but would rather stay at home and read a book about being in the snow.

  37. naturegirl Says:

    Certainly a winter wonderland! 🙂

  38. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    Beautiful, George.

  39. Carrizo Says:

    Wow. This is nice place. This shot is showing peaceful place to visit.

  40. happilyretired Says:

    What a beautiful winter scene. Methinks I wouldn’t walk too far before wanting to go indoors because it certainly looks COLD. Thanks for all your visits and supportive comments.
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

