Skywatch Friday # 30

Sunset off St. Lucia.  September 13, 2001.

Sunset off St. Lucia. September 13, 2001.

I’ve posted a couple of pictures from our visit to St. Lucia on a cruise in 2001 and I would now like to share one on Skywatch Friday.

Betsy and I took a belated honeymoon cruise in the Caribbean in September, 2001.  There were many things we enjoyed about the cruise, but the sunrises and sunsets we saw from the ship were definitely high points.

The picture above was taken while watching the sunset off St. Lucia.  There was a heavy cloud bank off to the west of the ship and the sun has dropped behind it.  If you looked at the enlarged picture you can just make out a sliver of the sun between the ocean and the clouds.

I think what I like most about this picture is the color behind the dark clouds on the horizon.  This was one of the last pictures I got that day before the light disappeared completely.

Last week over 300 people shared pictures of the sky on Skywatch.  You can join in the fun or see more pictures from around our beautiful world by clicking HERE.

Tags: , , ,

40 Responses to “Skywatch Friday # 30”

  1. Happyone Says:

    Such a beautiful sunset!!

  2. Mary Says:

    Yes….the color is wonderful! Yellow and orange and perfect!

  3. Alan Says:

    Nice sunset. Never been on a cruise – hopefully someday soon.

  4. Jim K Says:

    The clouds and colors are beautful.

  5. Guy D Says:

    Wonderful colors in your shot, thanks for sharing.

    Have a great weekend!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  6. lawstude Says:

    your photo is so visually stunning.

    let me share my white water rafting adventure to you here

  7. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Beautiful tropical sunset. Thanks for sharing your photo; it’s really nice enlarged.

  8. Carletta Says:

    I bet sights like this were a big highlight of your trip.
    When I first looked without reading or enlarging I thought that one big dark cloud on the horizon was a Navy ship in silhouette. Living in the Norfolk area so long I can accustomed to seeing that.
    Lovely image George.

  9. Carrizo Says:

    Hi.

    Very nice photo from Caribian sunset. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  10. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    This is breathtaking! The color behind the clouds is beautiful and the shapes of the clouds are wonderful! Great shot!

  11. Indrani Says:

    Yes, beautiful moment captured. End of another beautiful day, then!

  12. Linnea Says:

    Those are some dramatic clouds on the horizon. What a wonderful sunset to experience and capture. Are you ready for another cruise?

  13. blossom Says:

    Beautiful picture with beautiful colors. I like what you posted.

  14. Valkyrien Says:

    What a dramatic sunset! Great capture!

  15. D Says:

    What a beautiful sight! Happy weekend 🙂

  16. Michele Says:

    I love the golds and and the rust colors…. what a beautiful photo!!!

  17. Mildred Says:

    What beauty you captured George. Have a great weekend.

  18. Susie Says:

    Oh that is gorgeous for sure! Wish I was looking at it right now!

  19. Hilda Says:

    Beautiful! Like you, I love the gold and copper colors.

  20. connieemeraldeyes Says:

    That is a beautiful sky.

  21. theArthurClan Says:

    I can see why that was a high point for you ~ fabulous!!

  22. imac Says:

    A fantastic shot.

  23. babooshka Says:

    This is a knockout. Just how many colours and a silvery light. Fabulous shooting.

  24. Judy Says:

    What gorgeous colours!! I like the shape of the cloudbank, too, and the way you can see the waves rolling in toward the beach (well, I think it is the beach).
    Thanks so much!!

  25. Sharon Says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  26. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: That is one really neat capture of a wonderful sky.

  27. Marc Says:

    That’s a beautiful sunset, which must bring back great memories from your trip to you. Also, I like the layout of your site.

  28. Lene Says:

    Spectacular sky – and amazing clouds 🙂

    Happy weekend 🙂

  29. Shelley Says:

    The clouds look like puzzle pieces against this beautiful sunset!

  30. david mcmahon Says:

    Yes, I see the sliver of the sun!

  31. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    That’s a really nice photo of the sky! It’s really beautiful!! Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great evening!

    Sherrie

  32. Tammie Says:

    the shapes of those clouds are so unique, and the dark colors make this a really interesting image.

  33. robert v sobczak Says:

    That’s a vivid display of colors. Are you sure you didn’t photoshop this one? (Just joking). Sunsets are cliche, but the older I get the more I appreciate them. Sunrises not so much, but maybe that’s because I live on the gulf coast of Florida.

  34. Brit' Gal' Sarah Says:

    Stunning George!

  35. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    This sunset over water is gorgeous!

  36. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    Seldom is the sky such full of character. Simply striking in all its glory and the colours, composition and perspective are truly magnificient.

  37. Ebb Tide Says:

    Just blog hopping and found your blog. My husband & I took the Southern Caribbean cruise with Crown Princess last 2007. We went to Sta. Lucia, one of the islands that impressed me. Love your post about the sunsets. I am an artist and love to paint sunsets. I posted Sta, Lucia on my blog (2007):
    http://forever-art.blogspot.com/

  38. erin Says:

    gorgeous colors in this shot…
    have a wonderful weekend.
    erin

  39. Grammy Says:

    The photo is just Awesome !

  40. happilyretired Says:

    Lovely … just looking at this photo and reading your post reminds me of a Caribbean Cruise in 2007.
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

