Thoughts of Spring

Rio Samba rose in our garden.

Rio Samba rose in our garden.

Betsy and I woke up Wednesday morning to snow and 13° temperatures.  As if that wasn’t bad enough I had to carry wood from the wood pile to the garage since we’ve been going through the wood so fast.

I’m happy to say that we both made it through the day, but I did get to thinking about Spring.  Warm weather . . . green grass . . . flowers!

When we think of flowers Betsy and I most often think of roses.  We’re both a little nuts when it comes to roses — we like them and are always looking for ways to fit just one more rose into our garden.

There are two main attributes of the roses we grow — fragrance and color.  Sometimes we can get both attributes in a single rose such as Double Delight.  At other times we have to settle for one attribute or the other.

Betsy tends to like red roses with large blossoms — Mister Lincoln and Veterans Honor are two of her favorites.  I tend to have many different ‘favorites’ — on any given day my favorite is the rose with the buds that just opened.

The rose above is Rio Samba.  It’s not very fragrant, but it does has some beautiful color.  We added this rose to our garden in 2006, and I can hardly wait to see it again in 2009.

Tags: , ,

39 Responses to “Thoughts of Spring”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I like yellow roses also. Wish we could grow roses around my house but its so shaded nothing much grows (except weeds). Snow is nice to look at for about a day and then you wish it would go away. Stay warm. =) Spring will be here soon.

  2. Neal Says:

    We were in Menards yesterday and I was looking at all the spring stuff they have out for sale. This time of year I like to see anything that reminds me that spring is coming, especially since it’s 4 below zero here this morning.

  3. JLS Hall Says:

    Yellow roses are my favorite flowers – I had them for my wedding flowers, several centuries ago! If I ever have a garden, I intend to grow lots of yellow roses. Beautiful shot.

  4. Happyone Says:

    Your yellow rose is beautiful and I like yellow ones too but I’m with Betsey with red being my favorite.
    It’s 10 here by me this morning.
    I am soooo ready for spring!!!

  5. Valkyrien Says:

    A beautiful closeup! Looks so fresh with the waterdrops! I love roses also, guess my favourite colour is orange with a touch of red. Thank you for reminding med of spring! Outside we have snow – a lot of snow! But it is not – 19 C. anymore, only – 4 C. Spring is coming! Have a nice day!

  6. sharon Says:

    My grandmother loved roses and always had them in her front yard. Unfortunately, I did not inherit her green thumb and have to be content to just take photos of them. This is a beautiful photo of a beautiful flower. I envy your ability to grow something this lovely.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    that one is beautiful. I had some roses for a while…I loved getting new blooms and bringing them inside too. When we re-landscaped, I lost them…you have inspired me to try again. Looking forward to seeing your rose garden in the spring!

  8. NCMountainwoman Says:

    That is a lovely rose. I’m with you…I love them all.

  9. Mildred Says:

    That’s a lovely yellow rose George. I also like the two red varieties you mention. Spring can’t get here soon enough!

  10. Susie Says:

    That is a beautiful yellow color George. I only started growing roses last year. I have five bushes and they are all Knock-Out roses. I have 3 dark rosy color and 2 pink.

  11. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Beautiful! I can’t imagine why I don’t have a yellow rose in my garden. I have a few roses (which have survived despite me, I think) but they are red, white and pink. If Betsy likes red roses, you might try to find an “Oklahoma” if you don’t have it already.

  12. Mary Says:

    What a beautiful rose! If I was lucky enough to grow them, I would be dreaming of them, too. Color and fragance are both nice…sometimes you have to make choices 🙂 I love old-fashioned bush roses. We had lovely roses when I was a child and they required no care except trimming the bushes occasionally. I’ve tried a few roses here, but don’t care for them right and end up with the wild rose they were grafted to eventually.

  13. Carla Says:

    Everyone has spring fever! I love roses also. And my favorites are the yellows, whites and apricots. I used to grow a lot of the miniatures. They seem to do best when planted outdoors. They’re not very fragrant though. Two of my favorite miniatures are the yellow “Rise N’ Shine” and the apricot “Miss Dovey.” Your yellow rose is gorgeous!!!

  14. Shelley Says:

    This yellow rose is so gorgeous – I would love to have a bouquet of them!

  15. imac Says:

    Nice one George, We have a Sir Cliff Richard Rose in our garden , with others too.

  16. Antigoni Says:

    Lovely photo.
    If i could choose one more to tagged it would be you. I really enjoy your blog.

  17. ewok1993 Says:

    I love double delight. My mom has a bush that one of my brothers gave her for a birthday. I dont mean to rub it in, but my mom just gathered two double delights for her vase yesterday. Sometimes roses in winter makes up for our lack of winter snow here in Cali. I think that’s how the state keeps us happy.

  18. tanya Says:

    What a beautiful rose! We are supposed to be at the end of this freezing weather. Tomorrow warms up and we’re supposed to be in the 60’s over the weekend, yay!

  19. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    Beautiful.Your garden would be a photoraphers dream.
    Blessings,Ruth

  20. Reader Wil Says:

    In poem roses play an important role. And your rose is wonderful.Thanks for your visit.

  21. Carletta Says:

    What a beautiful yellow rose George! Love the pinkish tint on the petals.
    I think cabin fever has struck me. I’m thinking spring too.
    We’re expecting a little warm front for the next few days – up to fifty. I’m going to enjoy it while I can.

  22. Kathleen Corbett Says:

    Your rose is is so beautiful, I love roses.
    One of my favorites is the orange-yellow brightly-hued hybrid tea called
    Tahitian Sunset which when it opens fully, it has my favorite colors
    “peachy apricot-pink with yellow highlights.”
    George,
    I cannot believe Tennessee is having such a cold spell and snow, you must be breaking records.

  23. Jen Says:

    Is someone getting roses next week?? 🙂

  24. Divine Says:

    This is very beautiful flower and yellow is my favorite color. Thanks for visiting my blog George. God bless!

  25. beautiful Says:

    Nice rose. Lovely. Beautiful.

  26. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    Beautiful Rose!! I don’t do roses very well. I don’t think my soil is very good for roses. Thanks for saying my conversation is getting better. That’s one of the things I’m working on this year. Thanks for stopping by. Have a great evening!

    Sherrie

  27. Josephine Says:

    My favorite rose color !
    On my garden trellis I have planted a white iceberg rose, together with true blue clematis, it’s spectacular in the summer.
    The dry summers are hard on roses especially the past two years, I admire your hard work in keeping them blooming so beautifully !

  28. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    You can grow so many varieties of roses where you are than we can here. I LOVE them but can grow only a select few.

  29. Ms Hays Says:

    That IS a beautiful rose and thank you so much for your prayers, you don’t know how much I appreciate it!!!

  30. wren Says:

    beautiful! Yellow roses remind me of my mom, because they are her favorites.

  31. Grammy Says:

    That is a beautiful rose. I am glad to here you both love them. I had a peach color one at my old home that was my favorite. Thanks for stopping by.

  32. SandyCarlson Says:

    That’s a gorgeous rose. My dad grows roses that are something like this. I like best the fragile, temperamental beauties that last about a day. They are wonderful because they smell so lovely.

  33. Darla Says:

    roses are hard for me. Any tips would be much appreciated.

  34. Carrizo Says:

    That colour is very nice. I could not trace its name in Finnish, because I was missing the Latin name of this rose.

    Regards.

  35. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    I love roses too. I have several bushes in my yard and couldn’t tell you the name of a single one. 🙂 I just know there are a few I can smell the moment I walk out my door and I love it! The one you posted is a beautiful yellow.

  36. Indrani Says:

    I have some shots of yellow roses, not home grown ones like yous though. They just brighten up your day!

  37. theArthurClan Says:

    That is such a beautiful photo of a beautiful rose. I’d love to see your flower gardens. My husband and I were both *blessed* with black thumbs. 😦

  38. Tootie Says:

    That is really a pretty colored rose.

  39. happilyretired Says:

    Brrrr … 13 degrees sounds WAY too cold to me. Methinks MY thoughts would be turning to Spring as well. I love this beautiful yellow rose.
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

