It’s Been Cold Here

Mirror Lake, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee.  February 6, 2009.

Mirror Lake, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee. February 6, 2009.

Friday brought us something we haven’t seen in a while — blue skies and warm temperatures.  It actually got up to about 55° and it is supposed to be even warmer today.  Thursday was the first day in quite some time that we didn’t have a fire in the fireplace.

I did a little maintenance in the yard, but it was still fairly wet and muddy so I soon quit.  But since it was such a beautiful day I wasn’t ready to go in, so I took a walk on the other side of the golf course, something I haven’t done in several weeks.

When I got to Mirror Lake I was surprised to see that there was still a thin covering of ice at the end away from the fountain.  You can see the geese are also all down at that end (the picture above can be enlarged by clicking on it).  I’ve only seen the lake frozen a couple of times in the five years we’ve lived here.  I didn’t even imagine that there would still be ice, but there it is.

It dropped below freezing again when the sun went down, but since it’s supposed to be warm again tomorrow I doubt there will be any ice by the afternoon.  I’ll have to admit that the sheen of ice looked pretty in the late afternoon light, but I won’t be angry if that’s the last ice I see this winter!

Tags: , ,

26 Responses to “It’s Been Cold Here”

  1. Valkyrien Says:

    Oh – a fountain with water! I’m jalous! In Oslo the snow is pouring down, and I believe I will stay home between short small jaunts with the dog….

  2. Mildred Says:

    A very picturesque setting. Glad it was warm enough to enjoy a little hike. It sure lifts your spirits to get out doesn’t it?

  3. imac Says:

    Nice shot George, we have the sun shining at this very moment and slowly thawing.

  4. Kathy Says:

    What a great pic George. Its really warm here right now. Its just 6:30 am and already 60 degrees in Tulsa. Stay warm!

  5. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    You have to look forward to warm spells during winter. 😉 Today the temperature in central Ontario may go as high as 8°C (47°F), which will break an all-time record. Unfortunately the skies look like they’ll be grey, though.

  6. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Nice photo, George. It’s supposed to be warmer here in central Arkansas today, also. It’s already 57 degrees. I’m ready!

  7. NCMountainwoman Says:

    Same here, George. Our lakes have a little skim of ice. Today it’s supposed to be in the 60s!!! You figure.

  8. Bhavesh Chhatbar Says:

    WOW!!! I have said to many people — I’ve never seen snow, ice-covered lake, etc. in my life. I will be very happy if I can ever see such a thing 🙂

  9. Suzanne Says:

    the picture looks nice…that ice is deceiving. Does anyone golf this time of year up there? Do you golf any?

  10. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    That is a pretty picture,ice and all.
    Blessings,Ruth

  11. Carla Says:

    I noticed that there was ice on the smaller lakes in the Glade yesterday. And I also saw the ducks and geese walking on the ice on Mirror Lake. And a golf ball sitting on the ice in Lake Sherwood.

  12. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: You have to take advantage of the ice while you have it. Very nice lake shot.

  13. Reader Wil Says:

    Great idea to go on a walk if the weather allows it. And to take photos whenever it is possible.

  14. Sharon Says:

    I don’t know how people survive cold. It’s definitely not in my genetic make up. Great photo & glad you’re haviving a little warmer temperatures.

  15. Connie Says:

    That is a pretty lake.

  16. Happyone Says:

    It’s so nice when one of those nice warm sunny days slips in between all the cold ones. Warm and in the 50’s here today too.

  17. Shelley Says:

    Looking at that fountain is nice! And I’ll take your 55 degrees right now! 🙂

  18. Ms Hays Says:

    I know, that’s about what it was here yesterday too & it’s about 63 here right now! I”M LOVIN IT!!!

  19. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    That’s a beautiful Photo! All that blue with the fountain going! Thanks for stopping my my place. Have a great evening!

    Sherrie

  20. Jen Says:

    I bet it felt great to get out and stretch your legs!
    The sun shine alone is a pick me up for me. 🙂

  21. Tabib Says:

    Nice pic, warm 55º F ,and we have 95º here!

  22. Grammy Says:

    Don’t you just love the warmer weather. They photo is great.

  23. Rambling Woods Says:

    That is so peaceful looking George…

  24. Carletta Says:

    I missed this one George. It’s a lovely shot.
    I’m surprised the fountain is going in such cold.

  25. Louise Cannon Says:

    It’s cold here, too. I’m not terribly enthused!

  26. storyteller's other blog Says:

    Intriguing that your highs are above our lows here in California … finally. What a beautiful place. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a partially frozen lake ever. Hope it continues to warm up for you bringing Spring sooner than later.
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

