St. Lucia’s Drive-In Volacano

Volcano on St. Lucia.  September 13, 2001.

Volcano on St. Lucia. September 13, 2001.

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned in a post that Betsy and I had taken a catamaran to Soufriere, St. Lucia, and had seen a drive-in volcano.  Several people commented on that, so I thought I would share some more information about the volcano.  The picture above is one I took of the volcano when we were there.

The St. Lucia volcano, also called the St. Lucia sulphur springs, last erupted in the late 1700s.  That eruption was only a steam eruption and did not involve magma and ash.  Although there are signs of activity, such as boiling mud, and water and steam emerging from the crater, the volcano is dormant.

The caldera of the volcano is believed to be connected to the ocean because there tends to be an increase in activity during a full moon, which causes high tides.

Walking in the crater is now prohibited after a guide fell into a pool of boiling water when he was jumping up and down on the surface crust.  Fortunately the pool was only waist deep, so he was rescued, although he did suffer severe burns.  Visitors are now confined to a boardwalk behind a guardrail.  You can still smell the sulphur from the boardwalk, however.

St. Lucia’s volcano is just one more attraction on an island that is full of them.  I would certainly like to go back there.  If Betsy needs an additional reason to go back, I’ve even found a waterfall we could visit!

Tags: ,

24 Responses to “St. Lucia’s Drive-In Volacano”

  1. Cassie Says:

    Yikes! That guide was one lucky guy that it was only waist deep. We’ve never been to an active volcano. All the old movies from my childhood kind of put a fear of them in me. The area around volcanos always looks so lush. Cool, er I mean, hot picture!! Oh yes, I’m supposed to tell you that Betsy sent me. I hope she is feeling better.

  2. angela Says:

    Drive in volcano…what a great title. It piqued my interest. I’m not sure I’d want to get too close though..
    Interesting too that the volcano is more active when there’s a full moon.

  3. Shelley Says:

    I like to look at volcanos….from a distance! Can’t believe that guide fell in – thank goodness he was okay! Nice photo!

  4. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    Thanks for the added information. Good thing they put up a guard rail. Imagine a guide falling in and suffering severe burns!

  5. Mary Says:

    I think a boardwalk behind a guard rail sounds just right! That poor man who fell in! This is very interesting!

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Wonderful picture and I love hearing the story about it….this is like the geography classes I never paid attention to in H.S. 🙂
    But now I actually CARE!!!

  7. Happyone Says:

    That’s really cool. Before I read your post and clicked on the picture, I thought it was the rapids in a river!

  8. Tina Says:

    Wow, can’t believe the guy fell in…yikes! What a story. Good idea for a guard rail!!

  9. Susie Says:

    Ooooh, poor guide. I can only imagine how painful that must of been. We got to go to St. Lucia on our very first cruise. It is indeed a very beautiful island.

  10. ewok1993 Says:

    Very interesting tidbit of information. Oh I can’t bear the thought of someone falling in all that heat 😦

  11. Jen Says:

    I don’t think I would want to live close to one of these,
    even if it has been 300 years siince it last burped.

  12. Kathy Says:

    Thats awful about the tour guide. Looks like a beatiful place to visit.

  13. Tricia Says:

    Well, I think you guys may be going back then, because she LOVES waterfalls!!! hehehe
    I remember visiting Yellowstone & smelling that sulfur – awful smelling stuff – although, I would go back anytime, because it’s just soooo beautiful there!!!!!!

  14. Louise Cannon Says:

    Very interesting! I think you should find excuses to go back!

  15. tanya Says:

    That’s really interesting. I wasn’t sure if I was reading the title right at first,lol…

  16. Valkyrien Says:

    First of all; Great shot! Can see the heat, almost feel it!
    Volcanoes are fascinating – from a distance! The closest I’ve been, was when I was in Pompei and observed Vesuv from a distance. Walking around in that ancient city was a reminder of the brutal force deep inside our planet. I never heard about a driv-in volcano though – I learn something new every time I visit you! 🙂

  17. sharon Says:

    You should start a travel business…you know all the best places to visit!

  18. theArthurClan Says:

    That poor tour guide ~ I can’t even imagine how he lived through that. What a beautiful spot in our world though!

  19. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: Looks like a really neat place to visit.

  20. wren Says:

    The whole concept of a drive-in volcano takes some getting used to. I’d love to see something like that – or is it just that all that steam looks good this time of year?

  21. Mildred Says:

    Good evening George, I am late today! It’s so nice to get to travel along with you and enjoy your lovely photos and interesting history. Thank you for sharing today.

  22. Carletta Says:

    I’m so glad you showed us a photo.
    Their concept of drive-in is different than mine. I was confused on your first post. I was comparing it to Diamond Head (dormant) in Hawaii where you actually do drive inside, park and hike to the top. I’ve done that twice.

  23. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    The picture is great and thank you so much for telling about the volanco. It was very interesting!

  24. happilyretired Says:

    What an exciting adventure and beautiful photo. Wishing you and Betsy a lovely Valentine’s Weekend!
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

