Watery Wednesday # 22

Rain moving off shore, St. Lucia.  September 13, 2001.

Rain moving off shore, St. Lucia. September 13, 2001.

At the risk of boring you, I’m going to post another picture from St. Lucia.  I think it is especially appropriate for Watery Wednesday, although you may need to enlarge it to see all the details.

This picture was taken on our catamaran cruise down the west coast of St. Lucia.  In the distance, behind the catamaran, there is a sailing ship — a replica of a pirate ship.  To the left of the photo you can see the coast of the island, blue skies and fluffy white clouds.  To the right of the sailing ship the coast is almost completely obscured by a rain storm that is moving off shore.  A few moments later the ‘pirate’ ship completely disappeared in the rain.  Fortunately our catamaran avoided the rain, except for a few stray drops.

To see more of our watery world, or to post your own pictures, click HERE for Watery Wednesday.

Tags: , ,

32 Responses to “Watery Wednesday # 22”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Oh—I SO want to go back… Puh-lease!!!!
    Love you, Wifey

  2. robert v sobczak Says:

    I’m not sure what I’d be more scared of: the pirate boat or the storm, … or both attacking at once! Sounds (and looks) like an adventure, a high seas one no less.

  3. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    Nice shot. I love the see raining falling like that from a distance. It’s almost easy to tell that it’s rain. And more photos of St. Lucia would not be boring. 🙂

  4. Guy D Says:

    That is a great capture, something you don’t see every day. Well done.

    Cheers!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  5. Ms Hays Says:

    You can’t bore me w/ photos from St Lucia – not a chance!!! & a “pirate ship?” AWESOME!!!

  6. Connie Says:

    Nice rain over the water picture for this Watery Wednesday.

  7. Barbara Says:

    Not boring at all. You captured alot of elements in this shot. Very beautiful. Smiles B

  8. jennwashere Says:

    Oh yes.. that’s a very great shot! It’s so amazing to see rain falling down from afar, eh?

    My Watery Wednesday entry is posted here. Hope you can drop by, too.

  9. Carletta Says:

    I enlarged this before I read your post and I was going to ask about the sailing ship. Pirate replica – no wonder I was in Johnny Depp mode!
    Nice shot George.

    You came by early and missed my found alphabet letters this week. Stop back by if you get a chance and let me know if I’m still on a roll!!

  10. chrome3d Says:

    What a salty sea story. Har Har!

  11. Shelley Says:

    It’s so neat to see the contrast between the sunny cloudy day on the left – and the rain clouds on the right! Great capture!

  12. Gill Says:

    I took your advice and enlarged the photo, glad I did as I would have missed the details, great shot.

    Gill in Canada

  13. Bhavesh Chhatbar Says:

    Who says it’s boring. It’s indeed a very great photographs. It’s not easy to be at the right place at the right time with the right equipment and the right skills and the right exposure 🙂

  14. Hilda Says:

    Great catch, George! Fantastic difference to the two halves.

  15. Suzanne Says:

    So great that you were able to capture this picture. I love seeing the rain coming at me!

  16. Valkyrien Says:

    😉 Pirate ship? To see rain from a distance like that, is always fun! But the camera is not always available – as it was for you! Great capture!

  17. Ginger Says:

    This is a great shot, not boring at all. But, I like the fact that you are worried about boring us. Very polite and all.

  18. Judy Says:

    That is a wonderful photo, George! So much happening, yet it is not all strained. Just the sort of thing you would see. I love the contrast between the rain and the sunlit clouds. The pirate ship simply adds flavour!
    Thanks for sharing! And I agree with Ms. Hays, that you cannot bore me with more shots of St. Lucia!

  19. NCMountainwoman Says:

    Beautiful photograph. Lovely study of water and weather.

  20. Mary Says:

    That’s a very dramatic photo! Sort of a Jeckyl and Hyde of weather at sea.

  21. Neal Says:

    I see Betsy is begging again. 🙂 That’s a nice capture. I really like your bicycle shot below. I’ve never, ever seen that many bicycles in one place.

  22. Susie Says:

    That’s a neat picture George! You guys were lucky you did get poured on.

  23. kden Says:

    Great shot enlarged. Nice detail.

  24. Mildred Says:

    So very pretty George. Have a great Wednesday.

  25. happily retired gal Says:

    Methinks I will never tire of any of your photos … and this is a lovely capture. Thanks for sharing. I left you a little something at Happily Retired Gal to enjoy and share with others as you choose.
    Hugs and blessings,

  26. Denise Says:

    No George, I will never get tired of your photos either. This is great. St. Lucia is a place I would enjoy seeing one day.

  27. ewok1993 Says:

    Personally I don’t get bored by what you feature here. St. Lucia cruise especially.

  28. Louise Cannon Says:

    This is cool. Yesterday I saw almost exactly the same effect with snow.

  29. Tootie Says:

    I see some rain here like that, but no pirate ships yet. 🙂

  30. Grammy Says:

    Thanks for stopping by George, I should have joined watery Wednesday. LOL. I finally got my computer running ok again. Now hopefully I can keep up. Have a great day.

  31. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    Excellent shot George. You’ve captured the rainfront so clearly. To see the ship the picture needs to be viewed larger and that way it was even better.

  32. Kathy Says:

    Oh wow that is neat you were able to catch that storm cloud. LOL hope you didn’t get too wet. =)

Leave a Reply

