The Honest Scrap Award

hosnet_scrap

Several weeks ago my blogger friend Kathleen honored me with the Honest Scrap award.  It’s taken me longer than it should to respond to her kindness, but here goes:

The first rule is to “list 10 honest things about yourself — make it interesting, even if it means digging deep”.  I’m not sure how interesting this is, but here are my ten.

1)  I grew up on a small farm in northwestern Indiana.  I was in 4-H and one year exhibited a blue-ribbon Jersey heifer at the County Fair.

2) When I was in the third grade I asked Santa Claus to bring me a set of encyclopedias.  He did, and I found the World Book Encyclopedia under the Christmas tree.  I forget how many volumes there were in the set, but I read my way through them.

3) I was one of the first people to drive a Mustang.  When Ford introduced the Mustang I was the representative of the Indiana State High School Press Association representative at the roll-out.  I spent three days in Detroit and got to drive a Mustang on a test track.

4)  I’ve admired Robert E. Lee for about as long as I can remember.  My high school term paper on him was 52 pages long.  Some of my classmates complained about the 12-page length requirement in the assignment.

5) After my freshman year at Manchester College I couldn’t find a summer job, so I went to summer school instead.  I graduated in eleven quarters.

6) I majored in mathematics and taught college-level mathematics for 15 years.  During the summer of 1982 the Dean of the College where I taught asked me to teach a computer science course.  My qualifications?  The junior high school  my son attended had a computer.

7) I resigned my teaching position at Heidelberg College on the day my daughter graduated in order to take a job teaching in China.  I spent a year teaching in Tianjin.

8) During the 30 years I taught in colleges, I commuted to campus by bicycle.

9) Many of my Chinese students collected stamps and they got me started as a stamp collector.  I collect the stamps of China, Hong Kong (several of my students moved there), Great Britain (my daughter studied in London for a semester), and the U.S.

10)  I first saw my beautiful bride because of a snow ‘storm’.  The services at the Episcopal Church in Hendersonville were cancelled on the first Sunday I was in Tennessee with my new job because of a quarter-inch of snow.  So I went to the Methodist Church with my parents, where their new associate pastor, Rev. Betsy, was introduced.  The rest, as they say, is history.

The rules say that I am to select 7 bloggers who I feel embody the spirit of Honest Scrap.  But I’ve gotten to know many more of you than that who are deserving of the award.  So if you would like to be an Honest Scrap honoree, please consider yourself selected.

Tags: , ,

16 Responses to “The Honest Scrap Award”

  1. Shelley Says:

    Loved hearing about the mustang! (my dad had never forgotten his 1st mustang and recently decided at 62 years old – it was time to get another one! So he has a “Roush” moustang right now.) I bet all that biking to work kept you very healthy!

  2. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: What a neat history of your life. I’m so glad you were able to share these times from an interesting life.

  3. Suz Says:

    I love this George. You have lived (and still are) a rich life. Very interesting…thanks for sharing.

  4. Connie Says:

    George, I might do this. I enjoyed reading about your life. Very interesting. I wish you lived near me, so when my son has a math question, we could ask you.

  5. theArthurClan Says:

    What an interesting life you have led George! I especially loved reading about how you and your bride met. You gotta love those once-in-a-lifetime moments. 🙂

  6. Mildred Says:

    A very interesting post indeed George. You’ve had some wonderful opportunities and the sweetest story of all is how you met Betsy!

  7. Susie Says:

    Boy George, Betsy said in her husband tag she was married to a smart man. Was she ever right!

  8. Mary Says:

    You did very well in finding 10 interesting things about yourself! Of course I like reading about the Indiana connection 🙂 I remember when a friend got a Mustang..it was the Indy pace car that year and a real big thing to get one. You’ve lived a lot and done a lot and obviously enjoyed the journey. You and Betsy make a great team. By the way…sounds like you’ll be buying a new camera 🙂

  9. imac Says:

    A greeat post from a true Master.

  10. Jen Says:

    I’m terrible at math!
    Thank goodness for people like you. 🙂

  11. ewok1993 Says:

    glad to know more about you senior hiker. i did the same tag over at http://calrat.blogspot.com

  12. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    Congrats on the award. You said you were surprised our roller rink was still going, it is a big draw on the week-ends. Once a month each of our elementary schools have skating parties and the junior highs also have skating parties. Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great evening!

    Sherrie

  13. Neal Says:

    Very interesting.

  14. Rose Says:

    I love it when you and Betsy tell about your life…I really enjoyed this post!

  15. Ms Hays Says:

    Very Very Interesting Mr George!!! You’ve led an exciting life the way I see it! One of the 1st to drive a Mustang – Taught in China – etc… You’re cool!!!

  16. Ms Hays Says:

    Wait a minute – I didn’t say “you’re cool” to be sarcastic – I really mean it!!!

Leave a Reply

