My World # 18

John Marshall High School, Cleveland, Ohio.  May, 1964.

John Marshall High School, Cleveland, Ohio. May, 1964.

The building in the picture above was a big part of my world from 1963 – 1966.  The school is John Marshall High School in Cleveland, Ohio.  John Marshall was my first job after graduating from college.  The high school was on the western side of Cleveland, practically in the suburbs.  When I was there it contained approximately 1200 students in grades 9 – 12.

It was quite a change for this farm boy from Indiana.  Living in a large city was quite a change.  Looking back I’m amazed that I got along as well as I did, but there were about twelve new teachers my first year and we quickly gelled into what would now be called a support group.  We attended many school functions together.

During the summer my department chairman told me that I would be teaching mostly first-year algebra, with ‘one other course’.  I spent more than a moment or two during the summer wondering about that ‘one other course’.  On the first day of new teacher orientation Mr. Allen called me into his office to give me the bad news (his words).  John Marshall was going to be offering AP Calculus for the first time and since none of the teachers with more seniority wanted to teach it, I, as the new kid on the block, would have to do it.  I think I did a pretty good job of hiding my ‘disappointment’.

John Marshall remained part of my world until the summer of 1966, when I went to the University of Illinois to get my Master’s degree.

To see more of our wonderful world, or to join and share your part of the world with us, click HERE.

Tags: , ,

20 Responses to “My World # 18”

  1. Janie of Utah Says:

    I’ll bet you were thrilled by the challenge and did a wonderful job of teaching that calculus course.

  2. Indrani Says:

    I am loving your trips down the memory lane. Teaching calculus… that reminded me hat I have forgotten everything. 🙂

  3. Brit' Gal Sarah Says:

    Very interesting George and serious;y impressed about the Algebra!

  4. Suz Says:

    Great story and a great memory for you George. What a great stepping off point for your career.

  5. Mildred Says:

    Good Morning George, Oh how I envy your math excellence. I have trouble doubling a recipe! ha Always a pleasure to stroll down memory lane with you and see how your career advanced. My sister has lived in IN for about the last 20 yrs. and loves it.

  6. Rose Says:

    You know what? I just had an idea–you could do a blog and it just be things from your teaching career! I would love reading it. Or else set aside a day a week on here to tell us something. I think we all love it when you go back and tell us things like this.

  7. Susie Says:

    Calculus?!?! You amaze me George! Thanks for the stroll down memory lane.

  8. Shelley Says:

    Anyone who can do calculus and THEN TEACH IT is a genius in my eyes!!

  9. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    Sharing a part of your world stirs up memories of my own.
    🙂 Not a bad trip down memory lane.

  10. babooshka Says:

    Calculus sends shiver down the spine. How a building can transport back to our childhood. Very personal my world.

  11. Wren Says:

    Gee, what a shame you were sentenced to teaching the advanced students and the highest level math course the first year there. Darn, I’m glad you were able to hide your “disappointment”

    Like Indrani said, I’ve forgotten all the higher math I ever learned, but learning it was fun. I guess that makes me a math nerd.

  12. Hilda Says:

    Thank you for sharing a bit of your life again, George.

    It was because of lousy teachers that I got completely turned off all mathematics as a kid. It was only after college that I discovered that I could have been good in maths too. I’m good at estimating and I can figure out the equation needed to solve word problems. But I have no idea what to do with equations! Oh well. My practical math’s good enough so I get by nowadays.

  13. theArthurClan Says:

    Any advanced math class puts the fear of God into me…scares me to death! You impress the heck out of me with your smarts. 🙂 Loved seeing the photo from a place so close to where I live.

  14. Tina Says:

    Loved reading your memories of your first teaching job…brings back my own memories of that first year…but we made it and did it well..and must have liked it as we stayed on to teach and mold more minds!! lol

  15. Tootie Says:

    Thanks for sharing some of your history. I really enjoyed your hiking stories too. 🙂 The pond waterfall is beautiful. Did you ever make a trip to see Cataract Falls when you lived in Indiana?

  16. Denise Says:

    That’s a wonderful story and I thoroughly enjoyed the photos. Thank you!

  17. storyteller Says:

    Looking at this photograph and reading your memories makes me wonder whether I had pictures of my old high school somewhere too.
    Hugs and blessings,

  18. Louise Cannon Says:

    The calculus story if funny!

  19. Kathleen Corbett Says:

    You are a man of many talents and wonderful brilliant teacher to teach calculus your first year. I ‘m sure you were always a lesson ahead of your classes so that they never knew.

  20. susan kidney Says:

    I grew behind that house on Clifton Boulevard from 1962 until 1982. Walked past your house down Nicholson Avenue on my way to my best friend’s house on Lake Avenue every day. The elderly couple who owned your house — the Niergis’? They had a greenhouse that backed up onto our property. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

