Watery Wednesday # 23

Wetumpka Falls, Tullahoma, Tennessee.  February 14, 2009.

Wetumpka Falls, Tullahoma, Tennessee. February 14, 2009.

This is my entry for Watery Wednesday, a weekly meme that features scenes from around our watery world.  To see more pictures, or to join and post pictures of your own, click HERE.

There isn’t a great deal of water in this picture (which can be enlarged), but I am posting it since it is the latest waterfall that Betsy and I have added to our waterfall ‘collection’.  Wetumpka Falls is the 301st waterfall in our collection.

Sunday I wrote about Pond Falls, which was 300th in our collection.  Wetumpka Falls was a footnote in our waterfall book and is located about half a mile from Ledford Mill.  We went right past it the first time we tried to find it, but spotted it the second time.  It can be seen from the road if you know where to look.  Wetumpka Falls might be small, but it’s a nice start to our second 300 waterfalls.

In trying to find more information on Tennessee’s Wetumpka Falls, I found two more waterfalls with the same name — one in Alabama and one in New Jersey.  So it looks like we have a couple of more waterfalling trips to make.

Tags: , ,

29 Responses to “Watery Wednesday # 23”

  1. Louise Cannon Says:

    Love it!

  2. Denise Says:

    This is a wonderful photo, what a great collection of waterfall photos you have.

  3. JLS Hall Says:

    I knew about the Wetumpka in NJ, although I’ve never been there. Didn’t realize there were more than one. Great shot, even without a lot of water!

  4. connie Says:

    This is nice and I bet when they get a monster rain, that is really going over the rocks.

  5. mary Says:

    It amazes me that you guys have seen so many waterfalls! How beautiful this one is.

  6. Carletta Says:

    I love the two tiers of this one George and imagine it would be quite impressive with a lot of water flowing!

  7. Mildred Says:

    As soon as I saw the name “Wetumpka” I remembered that name from neighboring Alabama!

  8. Carrizo Says:

    George, how life is “funny”, You are collecting water falls and I am collecting photos from churches. My collection consists a litlle bit more than 340 photographed churches.

    Regards. Matti.

  9. Valkyrien Says:

    A little waterfall pouring down a natural staircase! Nature is wonderful! And I must say I admire your collection of waterfalls! Living in Norway I should have thought about that myself – we also have a lot of them. But it never crossed my mind! Well – now it does…..:)

  10. Kathy Says:

    George thats a lot of waterfalls. Great finds. Sounds like you and Betsy have a lot of fun on your trips.

  11. Michele Says:

    Nice indeed. You don’t need a lot of water to make a spectacular waterfall. Very nice photo.

  12. Arija Says:

    Thanks for your kind thoughts George. Am slowly mending but finding it hard to sit at the computer. Cheers.

  13. NCMountainwoman Says:

    I love your outlook, George…not starting on the next 100; starting on the next 300! Good luck.

  14. Suzanne Says:

    Alabama? New Jersey? Sounds like a road trip will be coming in your future. 🙂

  15. Judy Says:

    George, I bet when it rains there is a LOT of water coming over the falls, the way those banks have been undercut!! Not sure if you would want to go back then, for risk of flooding!! I like the photo of Pond Falls, too!! But it is more “normal”. This one is really unusual. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Tricia Says:

    And what a fine addition to the waterfall collection too & to Watery Wednesday!!! It’s so pretty!

  17. Ginger Says:

    I love to see your photos and read about your trips. Keep at it for as long as you can!

  18. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: What a neat little waterfall, nicely shown.

  19. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    Great shot. Love the waterfall. 🙂

  20. Tammie Says:

    Not much water, still a very sweet photo.

  21. Susie Says:

    That’s a lovely tranquil setting.

  22. naturegirl Says:

    George: I just love it when you find a hidden waterfall! I can hear the trickling from the one you post!

  23. Brit' Gal Sarah Says:

    George this looks lovely and wow at the # of waterfalls you two have got to!

    I hope you are both staying safe if tornadoes are around, sadly we still have no rain in our forecast for the next week.

  24. Shelley Says:

    I do like seeing the carving of the rocks in this photo! I don’t think I’ve seen a waterfall (that you’ve shown) that I haven’t liked!

  25. Rose Says:

    I know one thing for sure…if I was a kid I would have loved playing in this.

  26. storyteller Says:

    What a pretty setting for this lovely waterfall … it’s a beautiful one to add to your collection.
    Hugs and blessings,

  27. theArthurClan Says:

    You have so many beautiful waterfall photos. You make me want to find any that might be in my area…they are so beautiful to photograph!

  28. Rambling Woods Says:

    I really like the look of the layers of rock..like shale…very pretty

  29. tina Says:

    This is very cool that you are discovering all of natures hidden beauty!

Leave a Reply

