Tennessee Weather

Fairfield Glade, Tennessee.  February 18, 2009.

Fairfield Glade, Tennessee. February 18, 2009.

Mother Nature put on quite a show here in the Glade yesterday.  We had rain when Betsy and I made our weekly run to the grocery stores in the morning.  The rain was steady, but not too hard.  However, shortly after we got home, the sky got darker and the tornado-warning sirens went off.  A few minutes later it started to rain and hail.  That’s when I took the picture above from our small front porch.

I stayed on the porch for a few minutes to watch the rain and hail and to see if the water was washing away parts of the rose beds (it wasn’t).   The hail seemed to come in waves — lots of hail for a minute, no hail at all, and then lots of hail again.  As is usually the case, the hail was mostly small pieces of ice — less than about a quarter-inch in size.

A large piece of hail.  February 18, 2009.

A large piece of hail. February 18, 2009.

I was about to go back into the house when I heard a ‘thud’ above my head and this large chunk of ice (right) bounced off the roof and landed on the driveway.  I was quite surprised by the size and by the fact that I only saw one piece ice that large.

I was also very glad that I had a roof over my head at that moment!

Tags: , ,

26 Responses to “Tennessee Weather”

  1. Mildred Says:

    That is quite a chunk of ice George. We had tornado sirens going off all afternoon too. Fortunately we had no hail, just rain and wind. Glad you (and your plants) did not suffer any damage.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Mercy George thats one big ole piece of ice. What I wanna know is what happen to the days where we just got nice steady rain without all the bad stuff like hail and tornados??

  3. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: I think it would have left a bump from hail that size. Down in GA they had baseball size hail taking out car windows.
    You can send me some Pine Siskens. I never saw one live.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Did you know that when the tornado sirens go off, you should seek cover and not go out to take pictures???!!! Funny man. (I do the same thing during a hurricane)
    Hail, that is A BIG ONE.

  5. happily retired gal Says:

    WOW … I’ve only seen hail a few times in my life and never anything close to that size! I’m glad it didn’t hit you in the head too. Our rainy weather has moved on but apparently another storm is on the way so we may get a bit more over the weekend. That would be fine with me ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  6. Happyone Says:

    Wow, that’s quite a hunk of ice!
    At least all that rain wasn’t snow, but then again Betsey would have loved it right? 🙂

  7. Susie Says:

    Wow! That is a large chunk of ice! I’m glad y’all didn’t have any worse weather than that!

  8. NCMountainwoman Says:

    We were expecting the same, but it didn’t materialize. We did have some thunder and lightning, but little rain. High winds, but not the severe weather that was predicted. Glad you are safe and sound.

  9. theArthurClan Says:

    That is one huge chunk of ice! I’m glad that you are both safe and sound and that your roses survived the storm too.

  10. Tricia Says:

    You’re not kidding, a piece that size could really do some damage to a human head! I’m glad you’re not hurt & no tornadoes hit you guys!!! Be Careful!!!

  11. Shelley Says:

    That piece of ice chunk looked like an ice meteor! Glad it didn’t hit you in the head. Neat photo of the rain coming down hard. Stay dry!!

  12. JLS Hall Says:

    Oh, my – I’m really glad you had shelter from that huge chunk! Ya’ll do have some very interesting weather in Tennessee. It’s always either raining or snowing every time we drive through the state. But I guess that rain is what keeps it so nice and green. Just stay away from those icy boulders that fall out of the sky!

  13. connie Says:

    I have never see a chunk of ice fall from the sky. Good thing it didn’t hit you.

  14. Abraham Lincoln Says:

    Wow. You did get some hail. And it looks like a hard rain too. We had a nice warm day with rain yesterday and a bright sun and then it got windy and is still windy and the temperature has dropped from in the 50s to 19 degrees. It even snowed here this morning.

  15. kim Says:

    I am visiting from HappyOnes blog. I had to comment when I noticed you live in Fairfield Glade. My parents lived there from 1988 until last year when I moved my mom close to me in NC. The glade has happy memories for our family as it was our yearly vacation spot when my children were growing up. I may pop in and read your posts now & then to see how everything in the Glade is doing. Hope your wild weather clears up soon.

  16. Reader Wil Says:

    Good you had a roof over your head, for these hail stones are huge. I remember that my sister, her husband, my husband and I went for a walk after a short ride in the car. All of a sudden there was an enormous shower of hail. My husband and BIL fetched the car and my sister and I were hiding as well as possible to avoid being hurt.
    Thanks for your visit and comment!

  17. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    That weather doesn’t sound that good.Please keep safe.
    Blessings,Ruth

  18. SaraG Says:

    Boy that chunk of ice would have caused serious pain if it had hit you!! Glad you were under roof too!!
    Great post and photo’s!!
    Take care

  19. Carletta Says:

    Hi George,
    We had almost like summer thunderstorms here twice yesterday. We also had pea sized hail each time. At the moment snow flurries off and on. 🙂
    Love how you caught the drenching rain in your photo.
    I like the hail shot – it was big enought to cast a reflection. 🙂

  20. SandyCarlson Says:

    She sure did put on quite a show. She is a lady who likes variety!

  21. Baba Says:

    Wow… George, I have never seen a chunk of ice that big!!!!You were lucky to not have any damage..we missed all of that storm. Today it is 70 and sunny with some wind..thanks for your birthday greeting to my granddaughter.

  22. Jen Says:

    Strange looking piece of hail.
    We had snow this morning. It was like a blizzard at times.
    about a 1/2 inch, now it’s all gone. GOOD!

  23. Sherrie Says:

    Hi George,
    We had rain like that on Tuesday, but no hail! Yesterday we had sun, today we had about an inch of snow. Mother Nature can’t make up her mind! Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great evening!

    Sherrie

    P.S. Love your waterfall posts! Awesome photos!

  24. Louise Cannon Says:

    WHOA! I’m glad there was only one. That could do some serious damage!

  25. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    I really like that first shot. You can actually see the rain falling and I love it! 🙂 Hard to believe that huge piece of ice came from the sky. That’s kind of scary.

  26. karin Says:

    No one would have believe it if you would have told them about the size of that chunk of ice! Good thing you got a shot of it as evidence! That’s enough ice for a party of colas!

Leave a Reply

