Do They Know Something I Don’t Know?

frontdoorroses

I was surprised to find the box in the picture above leaning against the front door Saturday afternoon.  Betsy and I were busy working with our new computers and we didn’t even hear the mailman come to the front door.

I recognized the box as soon as I saw it — I didn’t even have to read the name.  I’ve been a customer of Jackson & Perkins for many years, and I knew that we had just gotten a bare-root rose which we ordered for our garden this year.  The reason I was surprised is that Jackson & Perkins does a good job of getting roses to the customer at the proper planting time.  And quite frankly, I was expecting to be planting roses anytime soon!

Rose Spellbound, Fairfield Glade.  June, 2006.

Rose Spellbound, Fairfield Glade. June, 2006.

This rose, Spellbound,  is a replacement for a plant we’ve had in our garden.  The picture at the right shows Spellbound in 2006, the year we planted it.  But two years of drought had reduced it to a single blossom on a weak stem last year.  Since we like Spellbound when it’s healthy, we decided to try again with a new plant.

So I was delighted with this sign from Jackson & Perkins that spring is near.  The only problem is that we got the rose Saturday afternoon and it snowed Saturday night!  Oh, well, at least Betsy was happy.

Tags: , ,

27 Responses to “Do They Know Something I Don’t Know?”

  1. Antigoni Says:

    Some rose plants need replacement in our garden but we’ll do it next year.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Oh wow thats a beautiful rose. Well at least you have something to look forward to when the weather improves. =) Look forward to seeing many beautiful pictures.

  3. Michele Says:

    Gosh, I can’t even think of roses and flowers outside for at least another couple months!! LOL
    That rose is beautiful, though!

  4. Suzanne Says:

    ha ha. Perhaps the rose company is trying to fool Mother Nature!!!

  5. Josephine Says:

    Gorgeous rose ! I went to the library Saturday, and came away with Tasha Tudor’s Garden…
    What an inspiration to those of us, you love to get out hands in the dirt ..
    You must be very dedicated, to grow roses in Tennessee, mine seem to die in the heat of summer 😦

  6. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: I hope to see your blooms as Spring gets this rose into action.

  7. Mildred Says:

    Well the rose is appropriately named; it’s just beautiful.

  8. Shelley Says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing your beautiful roses this year!

  9. Susie Says:

    That’s a nice color George. Does it have a fragrance?

  10. Mary Says:

    A rose bush in the mail…that sounds so lovely! Even better to have someone to plant it and tend it! Will look forward to photos of the flowers 🙂

  11. NCMountainwoman Says:

    J&P don’t usually miss the mark. I’m sure they will send you another replacement since they have (or used to have) very good customer relations.

  12. Carla Says:

    That rose will be a beautiful addition to your rose garden.

  13. karin Says:

    She’s a gorgeous rose!! Love your pictures! Congrats on your new computers. Lots of work to change everything over – no wonder you were so absorbed and didn’t hear the delivery!

  14. tanya Says:

    Oh YAY!!! I hope they are right on! That rose is gorgeous, happy planting 🙂

  15. Happyone Says:

    May they know something we don’t – Spring is coming early this year.

  16. zoid Says:

    Gorgeous roses. when spring comes I will need to look into getting new roses for the garden.

  17. Tootie Says:

    That is a very pretty rose. I hope your cold weather is about over now. I am amazed at that big chunk of ice that fell. I’ve never seen anything like that.

  18. ewok1993 Says:

    Oh I am a fan of Jackson and Perkins too. At one time I received the catalog too, but never got around to ordering from them. But whenever, they are on sale at my local nursery, I buy them.

    Let us know how Spellbound fare this summer.

  19. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    Looking forward to seeing pictures of this new rose this summer.
    Blessings,Ruth

  20. Indrani Says:

    That is one gorgeous rose!
    I haven’t experimented with roses yet! Must do soon, the bloom is tempting. 🙂

  21. Carletta Says:

    I can certainly tell from this photo that you have a lovely garden of roses!

  22. storyteller Says:

    What a gorgeous blossom and delightful surprise! It reminds me of the rainbow surprise that greeted ME yesterday that I shared at Small Reflections ;–)
    May Spring arrive soon for you.
    Hugs and blessings,

  23. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Beautiful! I can see why this rose would hold you ‘spellbound.’ Wishing you a warm-up so you can get it in the ground.

  24. treadway Says:

    It sure is a beauty! One of these days I am going to try a rose again…or have my daughter plant it. She seems to have a green thumb when it comes to them.

  25. Carrizo Says:

    This rose must be very beautiful in real life, I guess, because it seems to be so beautiful in Your photo. It is lovely to hear that garden means so much to You.

  26. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    How exciting! It’s always fun to have something delivered. That rose is beautiful. I know you can’t wait to plant the new one. 🙂

  27. LEEDRA Says:

    Spring one day, snow the next day. A normal week in East Tennessee. 🙂

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

Leave a Reply

