Scenic Sunday # 33

Sunset Beach, North Carolina.  June, 2001.

Sunset Beach, North Carolina. June, 2001.

As I post this on Saturday evening our part of the Plateau is under a Winter Weather Advisory.  We could get an inch or two of snow.

While Betsy is delighted at the prospect I am decidedly less enthusiastic.  I’ll admit that I’m looking forward to warmer weather.  With that in mind, I decided to post the above picture as my contribution to Scenic Sunday.

Betsy and I try to get to the beach each year for several days.  We usually go to the area around Little River, South Carolina.  We go there because I lived in Little River for three years before moving to Tennessee and meeting Betsy.

This particular picture was taken in June, 2001, on Sunset Beach, North Carolina, just north of Little River.  Sunset Beach is an island off the coast which is primarily residential in nature.  Most of the houses are single family and it is much less ‘touristy’ than Myrtle Beach.

It is possible to walk down the beach beyond the homes.  Once past the homes it’s easy to forget that their are other people around at all.  There is just the sea, the sand and the dunes.  This picture shows the grass on some low dunes above the high tide mark.  Sunset Beach may not quite be a tropical paradise, but it is pretty close.

To see more Scenic Sunday pictures, or to join and post your own pictures, click HERE.

**********

Just a reminder that you are invited to visit my photo blog, Photos by Senior Hiker, by clicking HERE.

Tags: , ,

27 Responses to “Scenic Sunday # 33”

  1. robert v sobczak Says:

    That’s funny, because we’re enjoying our spring bloom … even without the rain. But that cold weather could be our way … just not that cold.

  2. ewok1993 Says:

    More snow? Oh my, we have those flowering cherries in full bloom as early as last week.

    I hope you are enjoying your weekend.

    Mine is over at http://calrat.blogspot.com

  3. angela Says:

    It’s cool and raining here so it’s lovely to see some summery beach photos. I have a friend from NC whose parents live not far from here so it’s doubly interesting to see a photo of the place.

  4. AngelPearls Says:

    Nice beach! Make me longing for summer too..//Eva

  5. Dee Says:

    I love beaches. I love the sand in this one. Lovely!

  6. Ginger Says:

    I’m in Wilmington, NC, just up the coast from there. I have to try real hard to keep from posting pictures of our beaches every week, they are so beautiful. This week I went to the mountains, instead! Great shot, love those dunes.

  7. Suz Says:

    Love the picture…we have no dunes in our southern part of Florida. It gives the beach a very different look.

  8. Jane Says:

    I love Kiawah Island, also in S. Carolina, but also enjoy NC beaches as well, particularly Kure Beach. We are supposed to have snow as well – and you would think that the entire world was getting ready to close around here!

    Jane

  9. Kathy Says:

    Hope you don’t get to much snow. Its just cold here. Its supposed to be back in the 70’s-80’s by the end of the week. I still hope one day I get to see the ocean.

  10. Mildred Says:

    I can almost feel the warm sand in your picture on my toes George. We have cold temps this morning and I hope what will just remain rain here in GA. You and Besty have a warm and safe day.

  11. Linnea Says:

    That is a lovely scene…I especially like the colors and the soft footprints left behind in the sand. It’s raining here today…

  12. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: What a neat look at the beach and warmer days.

  13. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    Looks very much like a paradise to me George. Excellent shot that enhances the lovely dunes. I cannot beleive how white that sand is. Nearly like snow. Again a lovely story to accompany this picture. I love it how every one of your shots actually tell a story.

  14. Janice Says:

    Lovely picture. I hope the warm thoughts of Sunset Beach see you through the cold snap!

  15. shinade Says:

    i did see where a front was headed across. We aren’t getting any snow but our temps. dropped drastically. It is very cold and windy.

    So a nice look at this wonderful beach warms my heart this morning. The white sand is just glorious.

    I hope you don’t get too much snow.

    Happy day and try to keep warm!!:-)

  16. Susie Says:

    I wish I was sitting there basking in that glorious sunlight. Looks wonderful!

  17. Ms Hays Says:

    Very close indeed, I could picture myself living there & taking strolls in the sand every evening!!! Glorious idea!!!

  18. Tammie Says:

    This is a wonderful beach image. The angle you took it is very creative and what a wonderful day! Wishing you the best in your storm! Spring will be here soon.

  19. imac Says:

    I know just what you mean George, less snow the better, also a beach without a soul is a lot better than a crowded one.
    Also like your Twin falls pic too.

  20. storyteller Says:

    Pretty beach scene here ;–)
    We have a Sunset Beach in Southern California located not too far from me but it doesn’t resemble your island paradise. Hope you aren’t buried in snow and that Spring arrives for you and Betsy soon.
    Hugs and blessings,

  21. Mary Says:

    This is so relaxing and beautiful looking! I can see why you like to go there every year. Hope we see that warmer weather soon! It was very cold here today.

  22. Tina Says:

    Good idea to post a summer scene..I’m with you…very ready for ole man winter to move on!! This sounds like a nice place to visit…

  23. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Beautiful white sand and sea grasses, George. Very nice photo.

  24. Geogypsy Says:

    The sand is so white it could almost be snow. I totally agree George, I can do without that cold white stuff. Spring is on its way, sometime. Great capture.

  25. Indrani Says:

    Those greens hod lot of promises.
    The shot speaks a lot.

  26. Carrizo Says:

    Nice story with very lovely photo. This photo is really goooood.

  27. LEEDRA Says:

    Nice beach photo, and am sure it has such good memories attached to it.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

Leave a Reply

