Twin Falls

Twin Falls, Rock Island State Park, Tennessee.  June, 2006.

Twin Falls, Rock Island State Park, Tennessee. June, 2006.

On my last Watery Wednesday post (HERE) I mentioned that the Caney Fork River flows past the base of Twin Falls in Rock Island State Park here in Tennessee.  Several people said they would like to see the falls, so Twin Falls are the subject of this posting.

Twin Falls is formed by water gushing from a steep hillside and tumbling 65 to 80 feet into the Caney Fork.  Twin Falls did not appear until after the construction of Great Falls Dam.  The Collins River is immediately behind the hill from the Caney Fork, and it is speculated that when the dam was built forming Great Falls Lake, water began seeping into caverns thought to be inside the hill.  The water had to go somewhere, so it proceeded to ‘leak’ out the other side, forming the falls.

Attempts were made to patch up the leaks, but to no avail.  Hydrologic engineers have concluded that the hill is not in danger of collapse, so Rock Island now has a ‘quasi-natural’ waterfall.  Regardless how it was formed, we think Twin Falls is a pretty addition to our collection.

********************

On a slightly different note, I have started a second blog.  I have long wanted a place where I could post pictures that I like.  I anticipate that this will continue to be my main blog and that the new blog will be mostly pictures with enough information to identify what is being shown.  I probably will not post every day, but I will add new pictures as I find them in my files.  If you would like to visit Photos by Senior Hiker click HERE.

Tags: ,

16 Responses to “Twin Falls”

  1. Tina Says:

    George,
    After seeing so many pictures of these beautiful waterfalls I think I will have to travel south and check out some of these places in person!! How beautiful these twin falls are!

  2. Suzanne Says:

    Love the “twin falls”. 🙂
    looking forward to your new picture blog too.

  3. D Says:

    Lovely! We’ve visited several waterfalls in north Georgia and of course Ruby Falls in Chattanooga. Looks like we need to add Twin Falls to our list of places to go someday!

  4. Susie Says:

    That’s a beautiful waterfall George! If I listen hard enough I can almost hear it!

  5. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    Another picturesque falls.You guys certainly find great waterfalls.Thanks for sharing.
    Ruth

  6. theArthurClan Says:

    I love the background story you give for each of your photos. 🙂 And now I’m off to check out your new blog!

  7. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    Thankyou George. They are magnificent. So glad you posted this picture. I just love water falls.

    I have an award for you as well in my blog. I cannot think of anyone more worthy of it so please come and collect.

  8. Happyone Says:

    Another great falls picture. To bad we couldn’t hear them as well as see them.

  9. Mildred Says:

    Interesting about Twin Falls George. Congrats on the second blog also. I’ll be sure to visit. Have a wonderful weekend! If you get snow, will your new rose be ok? By the way, I loved reading about your parents on Bets blog today. What wonderful parents you have.

  10. treadway Says:

    I would love to see these in person…bet it is awesome to hear them.

  11. connieemeraldeyes Says:

    That is a beautiful waterfall, or waterfalls.

  12. Geogypsy Says:

    The falls are gorgeous George. I’m thinking the cave idea is right on, especially in Tenn.

  13. Kathy Says:

    George thats a great shot of the Falls. Its interesting to think that by building a dam it could make something as beautiful as that.

  14. Ms Hays Says:

    Now THAT IS GORGEOUS!!! It actually doesn’t look like Tennessee – it looks like it could be some place tropical!!! Exquisite!!!

  15. Happily Retired Gal Says:

    Wow! What a gorgeous waterfall … thanks for the bit of history too. I’m off to check your new blog ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  16. Carrizo Says:

    Wow. This is something special. Very interesting water fall! Also I like Your stories as back ground for photos.

Leave a Reply

