Skywatch Friday # 34

The view from Sunset Point, Mt. Nebo, Arkansas.  November, 2007.

The view from Sunset Point, Mt. Nebo, Arkansas. November, 2007.

I took the picture above in November, 2007, from Sunset Point at Mt. Nebo State Park in Arkansas.  Betsy and I had gone to the point to view the sunset and we found this pretty scene when we arrived.  The sun had not yet dropped to the mountains in west but was hidden behind the high clouds.

I decided to use this picture because Mt. Nebo is one of our favorite places to visit, and because we will be going back there next week to celebrate my birthday.  I would anticipate getting several more sky watch pictures while we’re there.  If I’m lucky we’ll also get some hiking in and will see some new waterfalls.

To see more beautiful pictures of the sky around the world, or to join and post your own pictures of the sky, click HERE.

*********************

Just a reminder that you are invited to visit my photo blog, Photos by Senior Hiker, by clicking HERE

Tags: , , ,

30 Responses to “Skywatch Friday # 34”

  1. Connie Says:

    This is a beautiful sky picture. I really like it.

  2. Photo Cache Says:

    Oh advance happy birthday. I love the clouds. Great entry for this week.

    Mine’s at http://calrat.blogspot.com

  3. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Beautiful, George. In all the years I’ve lived in Arkansas, I’ve been to Mt. Nebo only once. Looks like I might have to schedule a trip over there if it’s this pretty. An early Happy Birthday greeting to you!

  4. chrome3d Says:

    Such a wonderfull details all over your sky.

  5. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    Beautiful layers of clouds. I like the way you’ve got a smooth landscape with textured clouds above. 😉

  6. JLS Hall Says:

    Another gorgeous sky shot! I love all the layers of color in this one.

  7. treadway Says:

    Wow! This is beautiful!

  8. Antigoni Says:

    Great photo and post!
    George, you really deserve this award. Congratulations.

  9. Carrizo Says:

    Hi.

    Very nice photo. I like that light that reflects so beautiful around and lights other clouds.

  10. Linnea Says:

    What a wonderful place to go to view the sky and boy did you have a treat on your November trip up there. This sky is so beautiful and I love the plane trail cutting though it…it kind of pulls you back into reality!

  11. Valkyrien Says:

    Beautiful view and photo! Love the patterns on the sky – and the lovely yellow mist above the mountain!

  12. Hilda Says:

    Beautiful!

    I hope you and Betsy enjoy your holiday! And just in case I forget (not unlikely, knowing me): I hope you have a beautiful, wonderful birthday too!

  13. Susie Says:

    That’s a nice shot George! The clouds definitely make this picture.

  14. Shelley Says:

    Looks like a pretty silvery sky to me!

  15. Judy Says:

    George, I like the feathery clouds in contrast with the contrail, and the gold of the sunset highlighting the blue of the sky!!

  16. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: What a wonderful capture of the a busy sky, what a lot to behold.

  17. Suz Says:

    Just a gorgeous picture!!!

  18. imac Says:

    Great shot of a beautiful place.Happy day for next week George, looking forward to seeing all these photos.

  19. Secret Mom Thoughts Says:

    Beautiful shot. Hope you have when you go back.

  20. Jen Says:

    It has all the elements of a great sunset.
    Happy early Birthday to you! 🙂

  21. Tammie Says:

    The opalescent effect is lovely. I wish you a wonderful trip with many beautiful skies and waterfalls. Happy Early Birthday!

  22. Happyone Says:

    That’s a super picture with lots in it. A great skywatch.

  23. Brit' Gal Sarah Says:

    Lovely George and just so pretty, have a great trip and Happy Birthday.

  24. Carla Says:

    Oh, that’s beautiful!

  25. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    Stunning George. I bet you were glad you made it in time to see this spectacular scene.
    I would like to whish you a very happy birthday. Hopefully it’ll be all that you hope for, hiking and all.

  26. Tootie Says:

    Beautiful view, George. Happy Birthday in advance 🙂 (a little birdie told me.)

  27. robert v sobczak Says:

    Having had to hike to the spot makes the picture all the sweeter, and rewarding. And great capture by the way (hopefully it wasn’t too dark to find your way back!!!)

  28. Mildred Says:

    Wishing you a great birthday week and lots of new waterfalls to hike!

  29. Mary Says:

    I’ll wish you Happy Birthday before you go! Have a great time and if this is what the sunsets look like there, I can see why you are going there to celebrate 🙂

  30. happilyretired Says:

    What a MARVELOUS sky you’ve shared here! Looks like a great place to celebrate your birthday too ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

