Our First Promise of Spring

The first blossom in our yard.  March 7, 2009.

The first blossom in our yard. March 7, 2009.

The past couple of days have been very pleasant up here on the Plateau.  The weather has warmed and I was even able to work outside without a jacket yesterday.  That’s good because I certainly have plenty to do in the yard after our fairly hard winter.  In addition to  general clean up, I also have some new roses that need to be planted.  So I’ve been  outside quite a bit over the past two days.

Yesterday, while working with the roses in the front of the house, I found the crocus shown in the picture above.  It’s our very blossom of the year.  Actually it looks a little forlorn and lonely.  This is a crocus my father gave us when we first bought the house.  It’s located up against the south side of the house, so it gets more sun than any other part of our yard.  The little bed it’s in is a favorite tunneling route for our many chipmunks, so most of the bulbs that were originally planted there have long since disappeared.

But this little plant has bravely hung on.  And in so doing it has given us our first promise of spring.

Tags: , , ,

21 Responses to “Our First Promise of Spring”

  1. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: What a deep purple that crocus has shown. Even though we are far behind you I see the sprigs from the crocus and have one plant of white bells putting on a show.

  2. Valkyrien Says:

    What a beautiful blue color on that crocus! I guess your father knew what he was doing when he gave this to you; crocus is a flower who can grow when snow is still around it! I have seen that many times in Norway, it is a tough little beautiful flower!

    In Oslo it is snowing again today. And the weather forecast say it will snow 10 – 20 centimeter – tomorrow!! So you then know what I will be doing today; Stay inside and pray for spring! Well – my little dog has to go out……

    Wish you and your wife a great weekend!

  3. Tina Says:

    ABSOLUTELY gorgeous, George!! What striking color…ahhhh just what I needed to see this morning! Thank you!!

  4. Carla Says:

    That Crocus is a beautiful color! Looks like spring is on the way.

  5. Rose Says:

    George, that is a beautiful capture of spring on its way. It has been warm enough here to go without a jacket, also.

  6. Mildred Says:

    A very pretty promise of Spring George! We saw our first crocus yesterday on the way to the mailbox.

  7. Happyone Says:

    And what a beautiful promise it is. I LOVE the deep purple color!!

  8. Suz Says:

    I love it….so pretty it almost looks FAKE!!!!

  9. Michele Says:

    Ah, how delightful! A wonderful photo! I am looking forward to seeing these in my neck of the woods…

  10. Pat - Arkansas Says:

    Beautiful color! While working in my yard yesterday afternoon (the temps were in the high 70’s!) I notice that my hyacinths have big buds on them. Hyacinth is one of my favorite fragrances (after carnation… which I cannot grow here) and I’ll be checking on them every day. I need to move this particular batch to a better environment. They are in harm’s way from the lawnmower where they are.

  11. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    And what a pretty promise this is.I get excited about the first blossom of the year evenwhen it is a Dandelion.
    Blessings,Ruth

  12. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    Awww! Crocus already. I’m so jealous. Won’t be for another month over here. Then I don’t think I’ll have any at all since we’ve had a dreadful infestation of voles and mice and I noticed they’ve dug holes and eaten my crocus bulbs in the autumn. Well I guess it’s good for the Owls though.

  13. D Says:

    Lovely deep color and a welcome to spring!

  14. Indrani Says:

    Such deep purple. Beautiful!

  15. karin Says:

    That is the most amazing deepest colored crocus I’ve ever seen! What a delight to see those peeking through and heralding spring!

  16. Bobbie Says:

    Exquisite color. A happy time of year, to be sure. Can’t wait till this winter is over with. Nothing popping up yet in White House. Very warm today and yesterday. Weather lady says “don’t get too excited for spring yet, it is going to be several more weeks of winter”.

  17. Carrizo Says:

    Wow, what colours in that crocus, I guess. This was enjoyable to see after one day lasting blizzard.

  18. storyteller Says:

    I love purple and these small but hardy blossoms are delightful indications of Spring’s arrival for you!
    Hugs and blessings,

  19. Connie Says:

    This is such a beautiful flower.

  20. Jennifer Jilks Says:

    Delightful photo!

  21. LEEDRA Says:

    A beautiful bloom too!!!

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

Leave a Reply

