We Have Daffodils in Bloom!

Daffodils in bloom under our dogwood tree.  March 18, 2009.

Daffodils in bloom under our dogwood tree. March 18, 2009.

We had another bright beautiful day on the Plateau, and we were rewarded with a small bed of daffodils in bloom.  There is something especially enjoyable about seeing those bright yellow blossoms.  They seem to promise that Spring has really arrived.

These daffodils are in one of the small beds we rebuilt last fall.  We have more daffodils in other beds that haven’t bloomed yet, but that’s alright. We now have something to look forward to each morning when we go out to walk the lawn.  In the background of the pictures you can see one of our rose beds.  Unfortunately we’ll have to wait a couple of months before we see any blossoms in that bed.

********************

i_heart_this_blog1

Before Betsy and I went to Arkansas I received this award from my friends Antigoni in Greece and Tarolino in Finland.  I can’t begin to tell you how much I appreciate the thoughtfulness of both of them.

I’m supposed to nominate blogs that I love that haven’t received the award.  But I’m still trying to get caught up from our time away from the computer and am not sure who received the award while we were gone.  So, if you haven’t received this award and I’ve visited your blog this week, I pass it on to you because I love your blog.

Tags: , ,

22 Responses to “We Have Daffodils in Bloom!”

  1. Mildred Says:

    The jonquils are so bright and cheerful. It’s fun this time of year to take a leisurely walk around and see what surprises have bloomed, isn’t it? Have a wonderful day and thank you for your prayers for us.

  2. Neal Says:

    I just love to see the first flowers on spring. I like flowers all year but the early one are just special to me.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I love daffaodils. The epitome of spring.
    Congrats on the award George.
    Do you have a spot for it on the mantle?

  4. Susie Says:

    I enjoyed your daffodils George! Spring is definitely on its way!

  5. Happyone Says:

    Congratulations on your award!
    So nice to see the daffodils in bloom. Won’t be long before I see them blooming here by us too.

  6. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: It is so surprising what a couple hundred miles do to the weather patterns. We have some green from the daffodils coming out of the ground.

  7. iHeartFaces Says:

    I’ve decided that since we have no blooming flowers here yet, I just need to go buy myself a bouquet at the store and display them on my kitchen table! The vibrant color and life they bring would make it completely worth the money spent. Don’t you think? 🙂

  8. NCmountainwoman Says:

    Isn’t it nice that the daffodils awaken at different times, depending on the sun. Makes it all the more enjoyable. I’m looking forward to your roses.

  9. Mary Says:

    Those daffodils look so cheerful! I have a few starting to open up. That’s a nice bed around the tree. I need to be more organized in my gardening.

  10. Evita Says:

    Hello George!

    It is so refreshing to see the daffodils! We have been so lucky not to get any more snow and the birds are in full swing, but no blooms of any kind yet…

  11. koala Says:

    Just can’t wait to get those here. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Tricia Says:

    Very pretty flowers George! Can’t wait to see pics of those roses!!!
    Congratulations on the award too! I’m doing some catching up of my own right now & noticed your photo for Watery Wednesday – Beautiful photo! And I especially like the collage you posted w/ Betsy front & center!!! hehehe Great!

  13. imac Says:

    Spring is in the air, and may it reign.

  14. Jen Says:

    You are probably a month ahead of us.
    Enjoy your daffodils.

  15. LEEDRA Says:

    Congrats on the award.

    The common daffodils in Rockwood are at their end. The others are beginning to bloom, they are always later than the commons. We are finding daffodils all over the property. We will be moving them into flower beds…some will be going to New Market.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

  16. Louise Cannon Says:

    Sweet, sweet Spring!

  17. Tina Says:

    Congrats on your award..very nice Greece and Finland!!!
    I am just a tiny bit jealous of your Spring flowers popping up already..I guess I should be happy that I have that to look forward to.. 🙂

  18. Carrizo Says:

    Sugh, already daffodils. I have snow here about one feet.

    Congrats on your award and You earn it George.

  19. Rose Says:

    I love daffodils–I like the shape of the flower itself and I love yellow. Hopefully it won’t be too long till we have some.

    Congratulation on the award.

  20. Jennifer Jilks Says:

    Hooray Spring!

  21. Kathleen Corbett Says:

    Happy Springtime:) we have been anxiously awaiting this day.

    George, our snow seems to have passed untill next winter, our days are getting warmer 50’s but the nights are still cool in the 30’s. On Wednesday I took my mile walk through the bike trail and looked for any blooms, but found none.
    I thoroughly enjoyed seeing your daffodils, always a sign of spring. We usually get some crocuses, but none yet. Soon they will be arriving.

  22. happilyretired Says:

    Simply BEAUTIFUL daffodils!!! I have one … just one daffodil blooming right now in my yard but a few more ready to bloom soon. Congratulations on your well deserved award.
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

