My World # 26

Our front yard.  April 2, 2009.

Our front yard. April 2, 2009.

This is my post for the My World meme.  Last week there were over 120 people sharing their worlds.  To see more of our world or to join and share your part of the world, click HERE.

Right now my world is pretty topsy-tervy.  Earlier this week we were enjoying nice warm weather.  Betsy and I sat out on the deck swing in shirt sleeves to do our daily devotions.  The picture above shows our big rose bed four short days ago.  As you can see the roses are showing lots of new growth.  And isn’t the grass nice and green?

Our front yard, April 6, 2009.

Our front yard, April 6, 2009.

Well, the grass is still green as I write this, but the rose bed has changed as you can see in the picture at the right.  We’re under a freeze warning for the next two nights.  Betsy and I worked this afternoon bringing in the container plants, but what to do about the roses?  We finally decided to cover them as you can see.  It’s supposed to be cloudy with snow tomorrow, but if it’s sunny in the morning we’ll uncover the roses and then cover them again in the late afternoon.

Would you believe that I’m ready for Spring to arrive and STAY in my world?

Tags: , ,

19 Responses to “My World # 26”

  1. sylvia Says:

    Oh, I do so relate! I want to spring arrive and stay longer than two or three days which is all we’ve seen here in Seattle so far. Your photos are lovely — look forward to seeing your roses — one of these days! Have a great week!

  2. marites Says:

    I hope your roses will have their day to be with the sun and I sure hope the spring will come and stay long.

  3. Mildred Says:

    We sure are having extreme weather here in the South. We had such strong winds here yesterday. I just hope it won’t be as cold as they predict. Your yard is lovely.

  4. Josephine Says:

    ooh same here a little down the road George..
    Two hours of covering up the tender, blooming plants yesterday, and have to remove it all before the sun comes up.
    If it will save them all, it will be worth the effort, and by the looks of things here, it didn’t get as cold as predicted ?

  5. Judy Says:

    Well, at least you are not getting snow! But it is April, and I should know by now that it will happen.

  6. Susie Says:

    I feel your pain George. I had to cover plants last night myself.

  7. Busy bee suz Says:

    One can never predict what mother nature has up her sleeves!

  8. theArthurClan Says:

    It is past time for winter to get out of here already!! I hope your plants survived the chill.

  9. Arija Says:

    April is April George, what else can you expect. With such a happy life now, you can cherish little problems like covering and uncovering your roses. Apart from that it gives you some exercise!

  10. Jen Says:

    Spring weather is so fickle.
    I’m anxious to see your beautiful roses.

  11. Mary Says:

    I’m praying the freeze won’t get you! We have had warnings, too and so far escaped with just a few snow flurries and cold temps. Hope that is the worse it gets. Our spring is so advanced already, I do not want winter back!

  12. Indrani Says:

    Now I am too eager to see your roses bloom soon.
    I liked Arija’s comment. 🙂

  13. Rose Says:

    We are ready for spring in this corner of the world, also!

  14. Carolyn on Haida Gwaii Says:

    Old man winter is definitely pushing it! Beautiful gradually warming weather and then “wham” about 1″ of snow. Your garden is beautiful and I look forward to seeing it when it is in full bloom. Thanks for sharing your world.
    Smiles

  15. Brit' Gal Sarah Says:

    Yes we had a hard freeze here last night too! I can’t believe how green your grass is already!

  16. imac Says:

    Large garden George, love the post.

    Care to call in for a Finger Dip.

  17. LEEDRA Says:

    This Dogwood Winter is killing me. Wish I could hibernate, but can’t. AT&T is calling.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

  18. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    What a pity about the wheather. We had snow flurries today but they didn’t remain on the ground but melted away as soon as they hit the ground. Still it wasn’t warm. I hope your measures will save the roses. I’m sure it’s just a minor hickup but the ghost of winter is rather stubborn this year.

  19. Tina Says:

    I sure hope that all the work you and Betsy have gone to ..to save your lovely plants works! We are still seeing snow flurries today and drove thu snow showers most of the day yesterday coming back from Ohio. I am so on your side…come on warm weather..I want to sit outside in my short sleeves and soak in those rays!!

Leave a Reply

