Watery Wednesday # 30

The American Falls at Niagara.  October 25, 2008.

The American Falls at Niagara. October 25, 2008.

This is my post for Watery Wednesday, a weekly meme created and hosted by 2sweetnsaxy of Eyes Mind Heart.  To see more of our beautiful watery world, or to join and post your pictures, click HERE.

As a couple that collects waterfalls, we have been to Niagara Falls twice.  We first visited Niagara Falls in August of 2002, when we spent several days in Canada enjoying the falls and the sights from the Canadian side.

The picture above was taken in October, 2008.  Betsy and I had gone to Buffalo to visit my daughter and her husband and we went to Niagara Falls State Park to see the falls.  It had been raining off and on during the day and there was actually more water going over the falls than we had seen back in 2002.  There was so much water that the mist almost completely obscures the rocks at the base of the falls.

The American Falls is 1060 feet across and has a height of 176 feet, although the rocks at the base reduce the actual fall off water to about 70 feet.  The amount of water going over the falls varies due to two hydroelectric power plants which draw water into their reservoirs above the falls.  However, one fifth of all the fresh water in the world lies in the four upper Great lakes (Superior, Michigan, Huron and Erie) and all the outflow empties into the Niagara River and eventually cascades over Niagara Falls.  It’s quite a sight!

Tags: , ,

24 Responses to “Watery Wednesday # 30”

  1. Martha Says:

    A great image of Niagra Falls. I’ve been there once and your picture brings it back.

  2. Rambling Woods Says:

    It’s even pretty in the winter time…

  3. The Right Blue Says:

    I very much like the idea of ‘collecting’ waterfalls. That’s a great photo of American Falls.

  4. Darla Says:

    Hi ya George, that’s a great photo!

  5. Susie Says:

    It doesn’t surprise me you two have been to Niagara. I bet it is beautiful in person.

  6. Mary Says:

    I’ve been to the Canadian side several times, but never to the American Falls on our side. Great to see these photos of it! Now I know what it looks like.

  7. NCmountainwoman Says:

    I’ve never been to Niagra Falls, but it’s definitely on my “bucket list.” I love watching the documentaries on the falls. Fascinating.

  8. Busy bee suz Says:

    Another place I have yet to visit. great picture George!

  9. Pacey Says:

    That is a lot of water there, so watery. We surely couldn’t miss it eh…I love the white foams there.

  10. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    This is a spectacilar falls,but I think I personally like some of the smaller ones better.
    Blessings,Ruth

  11. imac Says:

    Now, thats one place I would love to go to George.

  12. amanda Says:

    Hey George,
    what a great shot of Niagra, I can feel the mist hitting my face!!
    Hope all is well with you.
    Amanda

    Please visit my submission to Watery Wednesday at
    http://www.aguthrieimages.com/1/post/2009/04/watery-wednesday.html

  13. Janie of Utah Says:

    That’s an amazing scene. I’ve never been to Niagra Falls, but it’s definitely the perfect place for you and Betsy to visit.

  14. Tammie Says:

    So so so beautiful! That is one powerful waterfall and most of us are drawn to waterfalls!

  15. Tricia Says:

    Niagra Falls – Great shots of the falls!

    I’d love to go see Victoria Falls one day in Africa – the tallest in the world

  16. Happyone Says:

    I’ve been there a couple of times too. It is awesome and to stand next to it is thrilling!!

  17. Tina Says:

    Niagra is pretty cool to see..any time of the year!!

  18. LEEDRA Says:

    I have friends in the Buffalo area (Lancaster, NY) so I have been there twice too. This is a very good photo of the American falls.

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

  19. shelley Says:

    This is a spectacular photo of one of the most special waterfalls in my opinion! (My parents honeymooned there!)

  20. connieemeraldeyes Says:

    That is a great shot of those falls. I love Niagra falls. It is so beautiful. I almost put up a shot of them too.

  21. Denise Says:

    It’s a beautiful picture. What a great shot for Watery Wednesday.

  22. mymy Says:

    What a lovely shot. Thanks for sharing. I always lovely water falls like that gosh so lovely. I wish I could visit there someday.

  23. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    This is quite a sight. Quite something else compared to the falls in Helsinki. To me they are impressive enough but this… The mind boggles.

    Wonderful shot George.

  24. Valkyrien Says:

    I have some catching up to do, after Easter vacation! Wonderful shot of a very famous waterfall! Must have been a real treat to be there and actually hear the roar of all that water!

Leave a Reply

