I’d Never Dated a Feminist Before

Betsy at Centennial Park.  April 7, 2001.

Betsy at Centennial Park. April 7, 2001.

Tuesday, April 7, was the eighth anniversary of my second date with Betsy.  We had our first date (a dinner date) on March 29, 2001.

I was working in Nashville at the time, in an office building near Centennial Park.  I often walked in Centennial during my lunch hours and knew that the tulips and other flowers in the park were absolutely beautiful.  So I invited Betsy to go there on a Saturday morning.  She accepted — Mother Nature cooperated — we had a beautiful day in which to enjoy the park.  The picture above is the very first picture I ever took of Betsy.

Centennial Park contains a replica of Athen’s Parthenon and we enjoyed viewing the statue of Athena in the main hall.  The lower level contains an art gallery and they had an exhibit of paintings the day we were there.  I suggested we view the exhibit and Betsy agreed, but she didn’t want me to pay for her admission — she said she could pay her own way.  I pointed out that it was my idea and that I would be glad to pay the small price of admission.  After more discussion and great reluctance on Betsy’s part, she finally let me pay.  We enjoyed the exhibit a great deal.

By the time we left the park it was lunch time.  There was a small restaurant near the park which was recommended to me and I suggested we get some lunch.  Betsy agreed, but ONLY IF I let her pay.  I told her that wasn’t necessary, but she INSISTED and Betsy can be very persuasive when she INSISTS!  Since I didn’t want the day to end, I agreed, and we had a very good and enjoyable lunch.

When the check came, Betsy pulled out her credit card only to be told that the restaurant didn’t take credit cards.  She pulled her check book, but was told they only take cash.  Guess who didn’t have much cash!

By this time I was having a hard time keeping a straight face, but I did a pretty good job of not grinning from ear to ear.  But I will admit that I soon asked her out again.

Tags: , ,

22 Responses to “I’d Never Dated a Feminist Before”

  1. Neal Says:

    She looks kind of mischievous there George:) George, I think she pulled a good one on you. She had probably been there before and knew they didn’t accept credit cards so that’s why she insisted on paying ….. just kidding. 🙂 Tell Betsy that if I’m ever down that say she can pay for me. 🙂

  2. Tina Says:

    Cute pic..
    cute story….an independent woman.. my kind of gal!

  3. Susie Says:

    Cute picture and cute story George! I love to read about y’all’s beginnings. Such a sweet story!

  4. Betsy Says:

    OH—I was so embarrassed… I’m surprised you ever called me again. (Remember: this wasn’t a ‘real’ date… We were just checking out the park. I didn’t want you to think I was a ‘gold digger’!!!! ha)

    Love you,
    WIFEY —who never carried CASH!!! ha

  5. NCmountainwoman Says:

    Wow! You celebrate the anniversary of your SECOND date? I can’t even remember the date of our first one.

  6. Busy bee suz Says:

    SOOO funny. Looks like you got your way after all. I bet she hates this story…:)
    Great picture of such a cute feminist!!

  7. Mary Says:

    What a funny story! I can’t believe you remember the date of your second date! Perfect photo for right now with all the tulips 🙂 I think we will have to ask for Betsy’s version of the story now and compare!

  8. Josephine Says:

    What a wonderful story, and such a spirited lady !
    you seem to have found a perfect match in each other….
    🙂

  9. theArthurClan Says:

    I loved this story George….Murphy’s Law and all that. 🙂 You two seem like such a wonderful couple together.

  10. imac Says:

    Wonderful story George.
    Happy Easter to you and Bettsy.

  11. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    What a wonderful story of that date of yours. A ‘feminist’ and an oldfashioned gentleman. A delicious combination and obviously successful.

  12. Happyone Says:

    What a nice story and a happy memory for you too. 🙂

  13. Jennifer Jilks Says:

    a woman trying to keep up with the times!
    I dated a guy in 1995 and he never paid for a meal. That was a two-month deal. He lived with his parents. On a farm. In the basement. 🙂

  14. Janie of Utah Says:

    That’s a funny memory. You two seem to have so much fun together.

  15. Rose Says:

    What great memories you guys have! Betsy looks as pretty as the flowers in this picture.

  16. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    What an interesting event this must have been.You two are just meant for each other.
    Blessings,Ruth

  17. LEEDRA Says:

    I used to love to go to the Kobi Japanese resturant close to the park. Know that is not the resturant you are referring to, because I am sure they took credit cards. Oh, you didn’t bribe the waitress to say that did you? 🙂

    Leedra’s Photos For Fun

    Leedra’s Greeting Cards

    Photography By Leedra

  18. Patty Says:

    That is a great photo of Besty, did she know that pink was going to be perfect with the flowers!
    I love the story of the date, its funny how little things like that are the ones that leave the sweet memories.

  19. Bryan Says:

    Great story! I’m not sure I would’ve been able to resist a grin.

  20. Tootie Says:

    George, I just love reading the stories you tell about meeting Betsy! You are both very lucky people to have found each other. Betsy is lucky to have a man who can even remember the date of that first date. 🙂

  21. karin Says:

    What a blessing to read your story!!

  22. Louise Cannon Says:

    What a fun story!

Leave a Reply

