An Anniversary Feast

Betsy at The Dillard House.  June 23, 2009.

Betsy at The Dillard House. June 23, 2009.

Betsy and I got back home from northern Georgia late yesterday afternoon.  We had good but warm weather, did some hiking, and saw some neat waterfalls.  We also had a fabulous anniversary dinner on Tuesday evening.

I mentioned that we were going to have dinner at the Dillard House in Dillard, Georgia.  The Dillard House serves their meals family style — they bring the food to your table and you help yourself to what you would like.  Betsy and I were able to get a table for two by the window.  The table was very nice and we thought it was very roomy — until our server brought the food.  As you can see from the picture above, the table suddenly became quite crowded.  And dessert had yet to come!

Everything was very good and we enjoyed our meal a great deal.  It was made even better by the ‘doggie boxes’ that we were able to bring home.  The meal was also made memorable by the strawberry cobbler we had for dessert.

Menu09062301

I took this picture of the menu board as a reminder of all the dishes that we had as we celebrated our eighth anniversary.  If you are ever hungry in northeastern Georgia you might consider giving the Dillard House a try.  I don’t think you’ll leave hungry!

Tags: , ,

25 Responses to “An Anniversary Feast”

  1. Tarolino, Finland Says:

    What can I say but congratulations on your anniversary. Now that is a feast and a half George. I bet your bellies were quite stretched when you finished your meals.
    I find that doggie bags are such a good idea. I don’t know why it could not be incorporated also here in old Europe. But no. No such luck. You pay for it after all and I hate wasting food in a world where people starv.

  2. JLS Hall Says:

    What a feast! Looks like you had a nice view of the outside, too. That was a great way to celebrate – but that photo is making me really hungry!

  3. NatureStop Says:

    Greetings from Oman!We have come over from Betsy and looks like you both had a great time!Enjoyed going through your blog.

  4. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    I am feeling full just loking at this picture.I am glad you had a great time.
    Blessings,Ruth

  5. Susie Says:

    Hey George, I’m glad you guys had a great time on your trip! That food looks yummy! Cute pic of Betsy!

  6. NCMountainwoman Says:

    Did she eat the whole thing? 🙂

  7. Happyone Says:

    Oh my goodness that is a lot of food. I don’t think I eat that much in a week! 🙂

  8. Grammy Says:

    WOW! Thats allot of food. I an so glad you both have a wonderful time. Have a great day.

  9. Louise Cannon Says:

    OH MY, that’s a lot of food!!!

  10. Suz Says:

    Love the picture of Betsy with all the good food. Such a treat. Happy 8 to you both. Glad you made it past the 7 year itch!!!

  11. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: A meal fit for a king and queen. That was a lot of food and looks delicious.

  12. Mary Says:

    Wow…I think I would have passed out after that meal! Congrats on 8 wonderful years and more to come!

  13. Josephine Says:

    Oh that’s a LOT of food !
    All looks so delicious and knowing me, I would eat at least a portion of each and every dish.
    Congratulations on your anniversary, you both are a match made in heaven ….
    Lovely post and thanks for sharing your moments.

  14. imac Says:

    Ive always been told that America have huge meals, now I know.lol
    Looks great George.Congrats on your celebration, and on my birthday to.

  15. Carletta Says:

    Wow! What a meal. When I read earlier it was family style I had an idea but I’ve never seen it done quite like this.
    I was wondering about the leftovers. So nice there were doggie bags.
    Me and my hubs couldn’t eat all that.
    Happy Anniversary again!

  16. Tina Says:

    Oh my, that is a lot of food..and you did dessert!
    I’m glad you got to bring all those doggie bags home with you..dinner reheated and re-lived! Two anniversary dinners!

  17. Jen Says:

    Looks like Alka Selzar was in order for dessert. HA.
    Glad you two had a good time celebrating your 8th!

  18. Shelley Says:

    Now this is my kind of restaurant!! Love the photo of Betsy w/ all those food dishes! Making me hungry! Glad you had a nice anniversary and I wish you two many more!!

  19. LEEDRA Says:

    Did you roll out of there? Bet there was not a lot of talking going on at that table. Hope you had all your hikes in before the visit to Dillard’s.

  20. Neal Says:

    WOW….. She must have tried everything on the menu. 🙂 Did you make her walk back to your room after eating all that? 🙂

  21. Rachel Says:

    That looks like my kind of place to eat!!!

  22. Michele Says:

    OH BOY!! just look at all of that yummy morsels sitting there! How delicious and of course, how much fun!

  23. Lola Says:

    That was a very special Anniversary Dinner for you 2.
    I’ve been there several times with DH & the food is fantastic. Congrats on the 8.

  24. karin Says:

    That amount of food is unbelievable! What a memorable anniversary celebration. You two make a wonderful couple. Wish for you many, many years of married bliss! God bless!

  25. Bryan Says:

    This is an amazing place to eat for that good southern taste. I’m glad you have some good memories for your anniversary.

Leave a Reply

