Autumn Colors From Long Ago

Barren River State Park, Kentucky.  October 7, 2001.

Barren River State Park, Kentucky. October 7, 2001.

Actually it wasn’t all that long ago.

We had another  rainy day here on the Plateau, so I got to do more work on some of my older pictures.

Both Betsy and I moved to Tennessee in December, 2000.  Prior to that move I had lived in the Midwest and the Carolinas, while Betsy lived mostly in the South and Texas.  As a result, she didn’t get to enjoy the seasons nearly as much as I did.

The autumn of 2001 was the first chance Betsy had to enjoy autumn colors.  We heard about a nice hiking trail in Ashland, Tennessee, and went up there one Saturday to enjoy the colors.  Betsy had a thing about red leaves and she found several, which made the hike even more enjoyable.

One Sunday we took my parents up to Barren River State Park in Kentucky and also enjoyed the color up there.

The photos I found of these two expeditions aren’t great works of art, but I must admit that it was fun to go back and see what we looked like as newly weds.  If you would like to see more of our searches for autumn color click HERE.

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Autumn Colors From Long Ago”

  1. Kathy Says:

    That is so pretty. I think I will be able to see some pretty colors here in Oklahoma this year. Last year it was so dry the trees never changed colors. Not a problem this year though lol.

  2. imac Says:

    Beautiful red, THE Autumn colour, I see you and Bettsie also had a great Autumn break and found plenty of colour too.

  3. busy bee suz Says:

    what I would not give to see some of that…

  4. Susie Says:

    Oh how I love Fall. Last year we had a pretty good one so I’m hopeful this year we will too.

  5. fishing guy Says:

    George: The colors are beautiful on that tree. We still are pretty green since we have not gotten cold enough to stop the clorofil flow.

  6. Karen Says:

    Fall is a beautiful season and your red tree is gorgeous! I love fall but not what follows.

  7. Tricia Says:

    Today is the 1st day I’ve seen the leaves change colors this year.

  8. Tina Says:

    Gorgeous hues of red on that tree, George! We are starting to see some color changes here in Pa. I can’t believe Fall is next week..where did summer go….

  9. JennJilks Says:

    Don’t you love comparing photos from the seasons past? I am convinced they are early this year, but my photos do not lie!

  10. MaryBeth Says:

    Our trees are turning too. MB

  11. Karin Says:

    Oh the memories of living in MA, CT and KY! Fall is so different there than up north in Alberta! Thanks for the pictures!

  12. Cheryl Says:

    We are vacationing for a couple of days in the northern part of Maine and there is color appearing here. At home the color will start appearing within the next couple of weeks.

  13. Mary Says:

    Makes me ready for the fall color to get here! If you guys ever want to meet somewhere in Kentucky…that would be half way for us. We’re heading over to Illinois for a few days next week.

Leave a Reply

