Things I Learned About My Bride

Bob, Steve, Betsy, Carolyn and Mickey.  October 17, 2009.

Bob, Steve, Betsy, Carolyn and Mickey. October 17, 2009.

Betsy and I got back from her brother’s memorial service late Sunday afternoon.  It was a quick trip, but we’re both glad that we went.

Since Ray had been in declining health for some time, his death was somewhat anticipated.  As a result the memorial service was more a celebration of Ray’s life than a service of mourning.  Many people, family and friends, shared memories of Ray and the way he touched their lives.

Betsy’s three nephews and one of her nieces were at the service, and they did a lot of catching up and reminiscing after the service.  I learned  several things about my bride that I didn’t know.

Since Ray was 20 years old when Betsy was born, she became an aunt at a very early age.  I knew that, of course, but what I didn’t know was some of the things that my bride did when entertaining her nephews and nieces during visits their visits to Big Stone Gap, Virginia.  I heard stories of races down the hill from Betsy’s house to the church downtown.  Even more interesting were expeditions to explore neighbor’s basements — even when the neighbors weren’t home!

I always knew Betsy was a leader, but Bob, Steve, Mickey and Carolyn described a ring leader.  And to think Betsy was a preacher when I met her!

Tags: , ,

18 Responses to “Things I Learned About My Bride”

  1. Kathy Says:

    LOL what a cute post. What I wanna know is did Betsy find anything interesting in the neighbors basements? Glad you all made it home safe. =)

  2. Susie Says:

    It’s always fun to find out little family secrets. Somehow I’m not surprised about Betsy being a ringleader.

  3. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: Why I am just so surprised, that young wife of yours a ring leader. Okay, I guess I’m not surprised, great story.

  4. NCMountainwoman Says:

    That’s too funny. You are a wise man indeed not to go into more detail.

  5. Suz Says:

    This is hilarious George. RING LEADER? I could spot the mischevious look in her eye the first time I saw her (picture).
    Even the best of us, have a little devil inside. 🙂

  6. Rose Says:

    Life is full of surprises, isn’t it. Somehow with the twinkle I see in Betsy’s eyes, this doesn’t surprise me!

  7. Shelley Says:

    Everybody needs a ring leader! LOL! This was fun to learn about Betsy!!

  8. Karin Says:

    Good thing to have the ring leader on your side, lol! Glad you had a meaningful time and safe journey home!

  9. Tricia Says:

    Oh that’s so funny, I’m still giggling! I can’t imagine Betsy doing such things…. HaHaHa!

  10. happilyretired Says:

    Learning new things about our loved ones can be very kewl. You and Betsy seem so well suited to one another! Thanks for your visit to Sacred Ruminations. I’m glad you enjoy the my mosaics made from my sister’s photos. One of these days I’ll do one just with waterfalls. It seems whenever I’m logged on to my WordPress site I can’t change my link here but then I do have a new post there with more photos from my sister today that you might enjoy when time permits.
    Hugs and blessings,

  11. Karen Says:

    Always fun to find out things about our spouses from when they were younger.
    Betsy sounds like a fun kind of person. 🙂

  12. Cheryl Says:

    Oh this brought a smile to my face! How very funny and how much enjoyment the family must have had with the sharing of memories! Betsy sounds like a most wonderful aunt!

  13. Becky Says:

    Well George, I don’t think any of us are surprised but it is nice to know about our spouses from someone else’s eye. Glad the two of you are safe and sound now at home…

  14. Mary Says:

    Uh oh….Betsy has been “busted” by her relatives. What fun for you to get the low down on her younger days….but be careful….she may find out some of your old secrets one of these days!

  15. MaryBeth Says:

    Funny story George. the things we learn when we think we know our spouse. MB

  16. imac Says:

    Good fer your DW George, shy ones are the worse,lol.

  17. Josephine Says:

    I always thought that “Our Betsy” could give an money….just look at that smile on her face, she’s got something up her sleave I bet 😉
    I’m sorry you both had to make that trip George, but a celebration of life is truly the best description of Ray’s passing.
    I wonder what she’s up to in Maggie Valley, wouldn’t you love to be a fly on the wall !
    Take care of yourself , whilst she’s gone !
    Hugs,
    Jo

  18. Josephine Says:

    George, forgive me for pressing the “submit” button before I had chance to read the mumbo jumbo I had just written.
    I meant to say that “Our Betsy” could give anyone a run for their money, but it surely didn’t type like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

