Betsy’s Newest Toy

Betsy sending a text message on her new phone. December 4, 2009.

For quite sometime, Betsy has felt that she would have more contact with her sons and grandchildren if she could send and receive text messages.  She had said several times that she didn’t know how her two Texas granddaughters could use the tiny keyboards on their phones, but she did know that they were constantly texting their friends.

Well, a couple of weeks ago we qualified for a new phone from our wireless carrier.  Betsy wanted one that would allow her to send and receive text messages, so that’s what we got.

I’ll admit that I was sceptical about how much texting Betsy would do, but she has definitely gotten the hang of it.  I couldn’t begin to count the number of text messages she has sent and received in the past two weeks.  She was definitely right about having more contact with her sons.  During last Monday night’s football game the text messages flew from our house to Chattanooga to Texas to Nevada and back every time New Orleans scored.  I’m very impressed with my tech-savvy bride!

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Betsy’s Newest Toy”

  1. Fishing Guy Says:

    Betsy: You really need spry fingers to text, way to go Betsy.

  2. Janie of Utah Says:

    You should be impressed! No mere technology is going to leave Miss Betsy behind. Sounds like fun.

  3. Mary Says:

    You should be proud of her! Good job Betsy for doing what it takes to stay in touch with your family. I can remember when I had to beg my sisters to just get email and use it….now I’m probably the one that is behind the times.

  4. MaryBeth Says:

    I do a lot of texting too. I never thought I would. MB

  5. busy bee suz Says:

    You two are the most tech savvy retirees I know. I also did not think I needed texting…but it really comes in handy and makes conversations much shorter. (I don’t like talking on the phone)
    TTFN. HAGD. TMBFIT.
    Do you know what that says?
    TaTa For Now. Have a great day. To my besties in Tennessee. 🙂

    LOL

  6. Becky Says:

    George, any day now Betsy will be texting with her thumbs and carrying on a conversation like all the young people do!!! You better get with the program…I texted my husband who was in the living room one night last week and told him to turn the tv down!!! lol

  7. Rose Says:

    I text my girls using the computer…it is so handy with Lorelei. Texting doesn’t disturb her sleep…. I just use their phone number@vtext.com It goes to their phone and they text me back. That is how Rachel and I do with the Colts games.

Leave a Reply

