Can It Be That Spring Is Coming?

Crocus in our side flower bed. March 12, 2010.

Yesterday (Friday) was dreary and rainy up here on the Plateau.  That wasn’t a bad thing since I had much to do after being gone for several days.

But in the late afternoon the rain stopped and the sun came out for a while.  I took the opportunity to quickly walk the yard and was very pleasantly surprised to see a clump of crocuses about ready to open.  It seems as if it has been forever since we had any color in our yard.

I also noticed that hyacinths, daffodils and tulips have broken through the ground.  And what is even more exciting some of our roses are starting to show signs of life.  Can it be that Spring may actually get here?

********************

Today I’m grateful for the promise contained in spring flowers.

Tags: , ,

19 Responses to “Can It Be That Spring Is Coming?”

  1. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    Oh bring it on.Spring will be so welcome when it comes.Love the rain drops on the petals.
    Blessings,Ruth

  2. Karin Says:

    YEAH!!!!! Lovely to see the crocus poking through and new life popping up all over. Enjoy! We’ve got some snow flakes dancing around in the breeze! I think they are inviting more to join them!

  3. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    O.K. I probably shouldn’t make this photo comment to a man, but here goes. Absolutly DARLING!!

  4. Fishing Guy Says:

    George: Looked like a great birthday trip. We have some small crocus up and blooming also.

  5. Happyone Says:

    Oh that’s wonderful. Spring at last!!

  6. imac Says:

    What a great shot George.

  7. Mary Says:

    It’s coming George, be patient! Beautiful close-up of the crocus. Looks like you and Betsy had a great trip!

  8. Becky Says:

    I love this crocus photo…its so “springy”…our weather has been cold and rainy for the last few days.

  9. MaryBeth Says:

    Oh I am so excited for you. those plants poking up through the ground make me know that it is Spring. I think My favorite season just because of new growth. –Fall would be second choice.

    We have had such a warm winter as opposed to yours that everything seems to be blooming at once already. My Crocus are done although the Helleborus are going to town and I just noticed that my Hosta are poking up. Crazy eh? MB

  10. Life with Kaishon Says:

    I know! Isn’t it exciting? Spring is definitely coming. YAY! : )

  11. Rose Says:

    I am beginning to think spring really is on the way! And none too soon.

  12. Cheryl Says:

    Glorious! I now have hope that spring will really come this year! Thanks for brightening my day.

  13. Judy Says:

    Lovely crocuses! I like the raindrops!

  14. Tricia Says:

    Ok, now I’m jealous – You guys have had snow since we have & you’re flowers are already blooming? That just isn’t fair! heheheee
    No, I’m glad you guys are starting to see color & they’re very pretty – BRING ON SPRING HERE IN POPLAR BLUFF, MISSOURI!

  15. Tricia Says:

    your flowers – not you’re – typo!

  16. Tootie Says:

    I’ll have to tell you George, seeing the Spring flowers popping up is one of the few things I miss by living on this island. 🙂 Thanks for always sharing your beautiful flowers!

  17. Carletta Says:

    I hope so George! Love this color of crocus.

  18. Kirigalpoththa Says:

    It surely does..Guess you had a longer than usual winter this time and must be yearning for the spring to come! 🙂

  19. happilyretired Says:

    How wonderful you’re getting some delightful glimpses of Spring … finally!
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

