My World: Did I Say We Needed Rain?

Waterfall and river behind our house, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee. February 28, 2011.

This is my post for the My World meme.  It is hosted by Klaus, Ivar, Sandy, Wren, and Fishing Guy.  To learn more about our world or to join and share your part of the world, click HERE.

I don’t need to tell most of you that this has been a very strange year as far as the weather is concerned.  We had snow and ice in December and January, followed by cold weather and some snow in February.  One thing that we haven’t gotten is rain.  We were almost three inches below the normal amount going into the last week of February.

All of that changed Sunday night and Monday.  It rained and it rained and it rained.  The picture above was taken from the deck in the back of our house and shows the fairway about noon on Monday.  I don’t think there were any golfers out.

This picture, also taken from the deck, shows the rough behind our house.  It looks like it was trying to become a lake.

The situation was about the same in front of the house.  I haven’t heard yet how much rain we actually got, but I’m confident that it went quite a way toward eliminating the deficit.

 

Tags: , , ,

19 Responses to “My World: Did I Say We Needed Rain?”

  1. Mildred Says:

    We had a lot of rain too and I am curious about the total number of inches. Hopefully today the sun and wind will dry out our yards!

  2. Sandra Says:

    send just a little of that down here, we are way behind in our rain fall, and have had not one drop in about 6 weeks now. we got 4 inches then and that was the first in 6 months. our drought continues, so send rain

  3. Jen Says:

    Lots of rain here too; it was fun watching the birds take a bath in the puddles tho.

  4. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    Soppy pictures, for sure! We got the same thing. All the rain helped out two of the fires.

  5. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    Oh, wow! That’s a LOT of rain, George!! Seems nothing this winter has been in moderation!!! Hope you dry out soon! Great shots of your very WET world! Hope you have a great day! Stay dry!

    Sylvia

  6. MaryBeth Says:

    Where’s Noah and the Ark when ya need him. LOL

    Looks like a ton of rain. MB

  7. Rajesh Says:

    Wonderful images. Yes, this year is strange, we too had a rain recently.

  8. busy bee suz Says:

    Oh my gosh…I hope it dries out soon. I also hope the ducks are enjoying it!

  9. Happyone Says:

    I wonder how many inches that would be in snow.

  10. Pat Says:

    Wow!! That is a lot of rain! I’m glad you’re up and over your average rainfall to-date. We’ve had a lot of strange weather here in northern California, too.

  11. Reader Wil Says:

    Well that’s a pour down! It never rains but it…

    Thanks for your visit.

  12. dayphoto Says:

    Better rain than snow. I don’t think I could handle ANY MORE SNOW!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  13. Linda G. Says:

    On first glance at that beginning photo, it appears there is some kind of creature in the foreground. I clicked on the photo to see what was in the foreground.

  14. Rose Says:

    You could have went swimming….

  15. Mary Says:

    Wow…we had terrible rain here, too. Sure making up for the drought last summer. The river here is near flood stage. Glad you didn’t have any damage.

  16. Ruth Says:

    All I can think about is some young child playing in the puddles.This is a lot of water.
    Blessings,Ruth

  17. Carletta Says:

    We got rain too. I looked out at the end of the day yesterday and liked how everything looked new and fresh like winter was being washed away. 🙂
    Today I drove by the river and it’s flooded.
    Good pics George. I hope you had sunshine today.

  18. Kathy Says:

    Kind of makes you want to run for the ark!

  19. sartenada Says:

    A lot of water. Here in Finland we have had also exceptional winter. Now here in the Southern part we have as much snow as in the Northern parts.

    Really nice photos which showed the situation so well.

Leave a Reply

