My World: Spring Blossoms

Pink Charm daffodils, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee. March 23, 2011.

This is my post for the My World meme.  It is hosted by Klaus, Ivar, Sandy, Wren, and Fishing Guy.  To learn more about our world or to join and share your part of the world, click HERE.

We’ve enjoyed some beautiful weather since we got back from Arkansas, and our yard has responded by putting on a show.  Most of the daffodils are now gone, but they were pretty while they lasted.  The daffodils above are Pink Charm.

Shrike Daffodil, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee. March 23, 2011.

We did have some new daffodils this year, including Shrike.  I have no idea how it got that name, but it sure is pretty.

Red Dynasty tulips, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee. April 7, 2011.

The only good thing about the daffodils starting to fade away is that the tulips begin to take center stage.  These Red Dynasty tulips are in the new flower bed in front of the house.

********************

The doctor visit went about as well as can be expected.  The disc problems are pinching the nerves leading to my legs.  Surgery is the only ‘cure’, but it should be viewed as a last resort.  For now medication is controlling the pain, so I’m going to continue doing my ‘things’ as long as I can.  Thanks for those prayers and good thoughts.

Tags: , , ,

19 Responses to “My World: Spring Blossoms”

  1. Pam Says:

    You know spring is here when you see their happy faces appear in the yards. I remember that delightful feeling .. thanks for the beauty and memories, George.

    I will continue praying for your wellness and comfort. There is nothing worse than back pain and not being able to do what you want to do when you want to do it.. Dagnabdit!!

    Take care and keep the faith, George :o)
    Blessings,
    Pam

  2. diane Says:

    Your garden is a dream. I hope it gives you many hours of joy. bad news about the old back. It sounds similar to my problem. I have a prolapsed disc. I had the pain down the leg but the doctor sent me to a physiotherapist and he manipulated the nerve with massage and the pain went out of my leg but not the back. My doctor said it is either an operation or exercises. I chose exercises but I don’t do them diligently enough and so I still have pain but mostly at night in bed if I lay on my back. If I curl up and put the end of the electric bed up it is not so bad. However, I know how frustrating it will be for you, an active fellow. Take it easy and best wishes for an improvement.

  3. Karin Says:

    Ooooooo, those are gorgeous flower photos! Trust you’ll find the right treatment for your condition. Praying for you as the Lord brings you to mind!

  4. Sandra Says:

    tulips and all those other flowers, signs of spring in the smokies. glad the meds are helping your pain

  5. MaryBeth Says:

    Love the Spring blooms—they make one feel so happy.

    Well keep doing you ‘things’ good vibes heading you way. MB

  6. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    Gorgeous flowers! And it’s so good to see those wonderful signs of spring! Great photos as always, George. I continue to hold good thoughts for your freedom from pain and a quick recovery! Take care!

    Sylvia

  7. Darla Says:

    Beautiful blooms George. I have pinced nerves on both sides of my neck, not fun. I do hope the medication continues to help you feel comfortable.

  8. Rose Says:

    Love all the flowers you guys have…daffodils are one of my favorite flowers. I just love the shape of the flower itself.

    I wondered what the dr. said…I wish there was an alternative to surgery.

  9. ladyfi Says:

    I wish there was an alternative to surgery…

    Those blossoms are lovely!

  10. Rajesh Says:

    Very lovely and colorful flowers in your garden.

  11. Happyone Says:

    Your flower photos are always beautiful.
    Hope the meds continue to help and will keep you in my prayers.

  12. dayphoto Says:

    Rush over to a chiropractor…I had the same problem and he helped me. And that was 37 years ago. No surgery here.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  13. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    i love the shrike daffodil, the center is so big!! And the tulips are outstanding. Get Betsy to tell or read to you what I said about her post today. I know the test results aren’t the best, but I am glad it was not anything worse, you may never need surgery. And we will pray for that.

  14. Rcel Says:

    Hello Spring! I so love flowers! I don’t know anyone who doesn’t so I’m giving a thumbs up to your captures here!

    Hi from Wisconsin!
    My World with Mango

  15. Carletta Says:

    I admire the fact that your garden is planted to always give you some kind of beautiful color.

    I read your previous two posts and hope the meds will benefit you. Keep good thoughts my friend. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers.

  16. Kathy Says:

    Did he/she also suggest physical therapy of any kind? I’m glad you can continue to do what interests you as I know how much this means to you and Betsy.

  17. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    Glad to hear that the doctors visit went well.I do hope you can manage the pain for a long time yet.Those flowers need your love and care.

  18. Loren Says:

    Gorgeous pics as usual…glad to hear dr. went ok…did they say if there was anything you could do to improve through physical therapy or stretching? Will continue prayers

  19. sartenada Says:

    How lovely. I have never seen Pink Charm daffodils.

    I am praying too, be sure George.

Leave a Reply

