My World: First Sighting of Petrified Wood

Erosion at Blue Mesa, Petrified Forest National Park, Arizona. June 13, 2011.

This is my post for the My World meme.  It is hosted by Klaus, Ivar, Sandy, Wren, and Fishing Guy.  To learn more about our world or to join and share your part of the world, click HERE.

When Betsy and I visited the Petrified National Park in June, we went into the park through the northern entrance.  As a result we first saw the Painted Desert, which  was absolutely beautiful.  We knew that we would see petrified wood as we drove south through the park.

Yesterday I posted about Blue Mesa, an area of the park where the effects of erosion can be readily seen.  The picture above was taken from an overlook on Blue Mesa.   If you look at the cliff across the valley, you’ll notice debris from erosion.

Petrified Wood at the base of a cliff at Blue Mesa. June 13, 2011.

My telephoto lens showed that the debris was petrified wood.  It was our first sighting of petrified wood, but definitely wouldn’t be our last.

Tags: , , ,

14 Responses to “My World: First Sighting of Petrified Wood”

  1. Barbara Says:

    It is amazing how the rocks are formed, must of been left that way after the flood, great pictures George, thanks for sharing.

  2. The Incredible Woody Says:

    My first thought upon seeing the Petrified Forest – “Is this it?!?” Until I got to the spot where you could see the wood upclose. Wow, that stuff is beautiful!!!

  3. Rose Says:

    I keep seeing your photos and thinking what a different world it is…would make me thankful to get back to green grass and trees.

  4. mary Says:

    Neat! I’ve never seen petrified wood. You guys so so many neat things on your trip.

  5. Darla Says:

    Petrified wood is so neat!

  6. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    I love the petrified wood! Terrific captures, George! You and Betsy did get to see so many beautiful places and things! I think that’s wonderful! Have a great day!

    Sylvia

  7. Rajesh Says:

    Wonderful shots of petrified wood. This is a treasure.

  8. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    Well, I have just been catching up on your blogs, so you are in for a good laugh now. The pieces of petrified wood, where do they come from? There are no trees around…can rock or desert turn to wood? Go ahead and laugh, I know I’m probably funny, but I can’t figure it out!

  9. dayphoto Says:

    Just think what the world must have looked like when it was a lush tropical rain forest here.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    http://deltacountyhistoricalsociety.wordpress.com

  10. ewok1993 Says:

    wow, that is really amazing. i have seen a petrified tree before but nothing like this.

  11. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    That is amazing.

  12. Neal Says:

    Those pictures look like they are from another planet. I remember when I was there thinking the same thing.

  13. Mama Zen Says:

    Neat!

  14. diane Says:

    Amazing stuff. It just looks like it was made recently. interesting shots.

Leave a Reply

