Watery Wednesday: Road Prong Falls

Road Prong Falls, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee. October 14, 2011.

(Note:  All pictures may be enlarged by clicking on them once or twice.)

This is my post for Watery Wednesday.  To see more of our beautiful watery world, or to join and post your own pictures to share, click HERE.

One of the joys of collecting waterfalls is finding one that you did not know was there.  Last month Betsy and I went to the Smokies to view the autumn color.  As I showed in my previous post, we drove along Newfound Gap road and stopped at several pull-ins to view the West Prong of Little Pigeon River.

When we came to the parking area for the trail to Chimney Tops we stopped because I knew the trail would have to cross the river before heading up to the Chimney Tops.  I hiked along the trail and as I came to the footbridge over the West Prong of Little Pigeon River, I noticed the small waterfall pictured above.

The waterfall wasn’t listed in any of the books we had, but a little research showed that Road Prong is the tributary entering the river from the right, and Road Prong Falls is the little waterfall I spotted.  What a nice unexpected surprise.

Tags: , , ,

17 Responses to “Watery Wednesday: Road Prong Falls”

  1. Ms. A Says:

    What a beautiful surprise, surrounded in foliage!

  2. diane Says:

    You discovered a new waterfall. That must have been fun. It is very pretty especially when enlarged.

  3. Leovi Says:

    Wonderful photo, I really like the flow of white water.

  4. Neal Says:

    Very beautiful. Did Betsy label that as three waterfalls? 🙂 🙂

  5. Sandra Says:

    once again I love the names of the falls you find, i enjoy the names as much as the falls photos.

  6. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    Must have been a really nice surprise!! This is the cutest, tiniest waterfall I have ever seen!!! I enlarged it to get a better look. Did it make any noise?

  7. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    I do love the waterfalls that you have found and your captures are fantastic, George! Waterfalls are one of my most favorite places and you do find such beauties! Thanks for sharing them — next best thing to being there! Hope your week is going well!

    Sylvia

  8. ewok1993 Says:

    This one is so pretty, so professional looking. Very scenic. I wish I captured this 🙂

    Great job. My regards to Ms. Betsy.

  9. Tricia Says:

    Ohhhhhhh soooo beautiful, George! My aunt keeps telling me that she’s going to take me over there one of these days, cuz she knows I’m just going to love it there… also to Cades Cove! =)

  10. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    That must have been such a treat to find that waterfall. Simply beautiful as are the shots in the post before this one!

  11. Ellen Says:

    Beautiful! Stumbled on your blog through Old Geezer’s blog. 🙂 I love all the pictures here. Thanks for sharing. Blessings to you and your family.

  12. Linnea Says:

    Pretty as a postcard, George. Wonderful watery discovery!

  13. NCMountainwoman Says:

    Sometimes those cascades are as beautiful as larger waterfalls. Nice picture.

  14. JO Says:

    nice! I love taking pictures of falls too.

    ~ Jo’s Precious Thoughts ~

  15. ladyfi Says:

    What a great new discovery! Lovely shot.

  16. Tanya Says:

    beautiful photo…what a nice surprise to stumble upon!

  17. Pam Says:

    Leave it to you and Betsy to research a possible location of a hidden beauty. And you found and photographed yet again another treasured waterfall to add to your collection.
    Gorgeous shot, George.

    Sunday blessings to you and Betsy, thanks so much for stopping by.
    Pam

Leave a Reply

