Watery Wednesday: Little River at the ‘Y’

The Townsend 'Y'. Image from Google Earth.

(Note:  All pictures may be enlarged by clicking on them once or twice.)

This is my post for Watery Wednesday.  To see more of our beautiful watery world, or to join and post your own pictures to share, click HERE.

When Betsy and I go to the Smokies, we usually enter the park from Townsend, Tennessee.  Shortly after entering the park, we get to the ‘Y’.  As you can see from the photo above, there are a couple of reasons why the ‘Y’ is called the ‘Y’.  The road into the park splits at this point, with one branch going to Cades Cove and the other going to Gatlinburg.  This is also where the West Prong of the Little River joins the Little River.

The ‘Y’ is a popular spot and is usually very crowded.  But earlier this month the parking lot was practically deserted, so we decided to stop and check out the rapids.

Little River, Great Smoky Mountains, Tennessee. December 11, 2011. (Photo by Betsy)

One of the first things we noticed was how clear the water was.  Betsy did a great job of capturing the clarity of the river at this point.

Tree in the middle of Little River, Great Smoky Mountains, Tennessee. December 11, 2011.

I was attracted by the rapids and the unusual tree growing in the middle of the stream.

Little River at the 'Y', Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee. December 11, 2011.

It was a real treat to have this beautiful, peaceful scene to ourselves.  The Smokies are a fantastic place to visit any time of the year.

Tags: , , ,

17 Responses to “Watery Wednesday: Little River at the ‘Y’”

  1. Ms. A Says:

    What an odd tree. It looks like it couldn’t quite decide what to do.

  2. diane Says:

    Super photos when enlarged . Love the smooth silky water effect.I would love to visit the Smokies one day.

  3. Karin Says:

    Such crystal clear waters!! Wow! That is a fascinating tree! Wonder what challenges and adversities it faced in all its years that shaped it that way – but it’s planted by the waters! You’ve shown it off well!

  4. bertN Says:

    Your pics convinced me to plan a trip to this place next year. I’m missing a lot!

  5. The Incredible Woody Says:

    Been tubin’ there on many occasions when the water is high enough:)

  6. Sandra Says:

    this reminds me a lot of the Hillsbourgh State Park in Tampa, it has trees growing in the middle, but they are cypress trees and stumps. i love clear running water and rocks/stones

  7. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    Gorgeous captures, George, and what a beautiful place! I do love that clear, rushing water! Fantastic! Hope your week is going well as the big day approaches!!

    Sylvia

  8. 2sweetnsaxy Says:

    Beautiful shots and a great place for shots. Reminds me of a place I like to visit after the snow has begun to melt.

  9. Ruth Hiebert Says:

    That water is amazingly clear.

  10. Neal Says:

    I always love getting out of the car and walking over and listening to and watching the streams. It’s always a relaxing sound.

  11. Jo Ann Says:

    Beautiful post ! merry christmas!

  12. ladyfi Says:

    What a glorious place! Lovely pics.

  13. Leovi Says:

    I love those beautiful pictures of Little River in Great Smoky Mountains, greetings.

  14. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    It makes me want to have a huge slurp of that water, it is so pretty and looks so pure! You think it is? The trees are extremely interesting also. Your post that I missed below is so cool! Betsy had put a couple of them on her blog, my favorite being the mill. I haven’t seen the cow and my favorite here is the big clock!

  15. Kris McCracken Says:

    I beg your forgiveness for my cutting and pasting my comment, but there was no way on Earth I would be able to make it around the whole globe to wish everybody a Merry Christmas otherwise.

    The magical elves that constitute my staff have demonstrated their lack of respect in either not showing up for work at all, or those that have all seem a little worse for wear (if you catch my drift). All they seem to do is sit around smoking cigarettes that, frankly, smell funny. In addition, they play cards and tell dirty jokes rather than do their jobs! Consequently, the reindeer are all filthy and out of shape.

    I now have my two sons pulling the sleigh, but they are struggling. I’ve been told that it’s a big ask for a three and five year old, but I made it this far with a couple of mangy chooks, an arthritic wallaby and three peculiar wombats! Unfortunately, we lost all bar one wombat over Mumbai (and the sole survivor is exhibiting clear signs of PTSD).

    Anyway, all the way down here at the bottom of the world (A.K.A. Tasmania), and from myself, Jen, Henry and Ezra, please have a Merry Christmas/Winter Solstice/Hanukkah/Festivus/Ashura and a happy New Year!

    I hope that all of your holiday photos turn out to be triumphs, your stocking is stuffed full of lots of tasty treats and not coal and that all your naan/ prawn cocktails/ currywurst are all as tasty as can be!

  16. sartenada Says:

    Very interesting and lovely photos. I especially love the photo “Tree in the middle of Little River”.

  17. Susan Says:

    I keep hearing about Cade’s Cove. Maybe this is the time of year I should go see it. Thanks for the pics.

Leave a Reply

