Consider the lilies

 

(Note:  All pictures may be enlarged by clicking on them once or twice.)

I’m not sure day lilies are the biblical lilies of the field, but they certainly are beautiful and worthy of consideration. We have several varieties in our yard, most of them rebloomers that we can enjoy twice a year. Day lilies are way to grow and don’t require much maintenance, which is a nice bonus.

Carolyn Criswell (the photo above) is a bright, beautiful day lily that always looks cheerful.

I dearly love Betsy, but I must admit that I enjoy seeing Lady Lucille whenever she puts in an appearance in our yard.

I seriously doubt that Christmas Wishes would bloom in our yard in December, but it certainly looks festive this time of the year.

Pure and Simple may not be ‘fancy’, but it is definitely pretty. The large blossoms of this day lily are always a welcome sight.

I almost feel that I cheated when I got this picture of our Bright Sunset day lily. I actually took this photo in the morning light. I’m not aware of a ‘Bright Sunrise’ day lily.

We have other beautiful day lilies in our yard, but I hope you enjoyed this sample. It’s been a beautiful Spring in the Glade.

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Consider the lilies”

  1. kim blades, writer Says:

    Hello. Wonderful photos of truly beautiful flowers. I’m sure Betsy knows how much you love her and doesn;t mind you caring for the lovely lilies as well. I’m glad you are having a good summer.

  2. dayphoto Says:

    Oh! Gosh! Those are just stunning!

  3. Ginny Hartzler Says:

    Your shots are as brilliant as the lilies, George! And I won’t tell Betsy about all your new girlfriends! So do you think the biblical Lilies were hibiscus?

  4. rhiebert Says:

    Gorgeous photos.

  5. Betsy Adams Says:

    Oh My Heart… These are SO SO SO gorgeous… And I’ll share Lady Lucille with you anytime… ha…… Can’t pick a favorite since I love them all…..
    Love,
    Wifey

  6. Jeevan Says:

    Wow! Brilliant capture on the day lilies… the comment on the Lady Lucille is sweet 🙂

  7. Suz Says:

    They are all so lovely; you’ve got quite the variety.

  8. Linda, Shenandoah Valley Says:

    Very pretty! Love the last one most.

  9. Sartenada Says:

    What a wonderful set of gorgeous lilies! I love the all. Thank You presenting them.

  10. Patrick Tillett Says:

    Beautiful flowers and great photos of them George!

  11. diane Says:

    Just beautiful you are such a brilliant gardener.

Leave a Reply

